Oh My Obelisk

Oh my what a beauty

This morning we headed to Dawlish to partake in an event, using it as a training run for the Grizzly on the 1st March. (Those in the UK will know Dawlish for its disappearing train line during last winters storms)

I researched the route on-line, I had assumed it would involve a run along the coast, but no we were due to run in land (upland) to Haldon Forest and back, oh dear. This is what the elevation gain and loss looked like

elevation

I knew it was going to be a tough start followed by a tough middle, I was prepared. The weather was perfect.

The course was well marshalled, (all danger spots were marked) and well organised.

Early on in the run we came to a muddy field with a style at the end. Being very British we were all queued waiting our turn to cross, except for one lady who decided she would cut up the inside and climb over. I was amazed, did she think A) we were all standing in the mud in a line for the good of our health or B) that she was more important than the rest of us so deserved to go first? Either way the lady in front of me and I plotted her demise which was going to involve mud and be messy! On the opposite end of the spectrum at the top of the climb by the Obelisk (hence the run name)  another runner forfeited some time on his run to take a photo of the three musketeers at the top with the view, what a gent!

It was a lovely romp across the Devon countryside, with the most amazing of views. Gotta love running in Devon!

photo 5

Mud

Cows

Cows

Clearly to celebrate I needed to open another box of chocolates, the others nearly all done (thanks to the help of Madam and Hubby).

box choc

My favourite chocolate Coffee Dream!

Capture

Well earned!

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oh My Obelisk

  1. I had my fingers crossed for that woman’s comeuppance right to the end! Karma will get her eventually…

  2. madhat2014 says:

    Love the scenery. Less so the mud. Definitely well earned chocolate!

  3. winsometahn says:

    Definitely well earned – well done!

  4. oscardiamond says:

    What a beautiful course. I always look for a coffee choc, too.

  5. Gosh, such a lot of mud! But beautiful scenery. I don’t get why some people have to push in. We’re pretty polite here in Australia too – at least most runners are!

  6. fitflo says:

    Hm must’ve been looking at the mud that made you think of the coffee choccy!

  7. Pingback: Oh My Obelisk, take two | shazruns

Leave a Reply

