Oh My Obelisk, take two

During Janathon last year I ran this mostly off-road 11 miles ish run, you can read about it here, I ran it then as a training run for The Grizzly. After completion I said I wanted to do it again but with more effort!

Unfortunately I pitched up in Dawlish yesterday not feeling at all like running, let alone running with ‘effort’. My mind on the continuing drama involving the bathroom renovation, just when I thought we were almost there, it appears not so! I almost backed out, but no point staying at home brooding, a long run needed to be done so decided I may as well go.

The morning was lovely, the rain that has been us for ever had stopped, the sky was blue. I was almost glad I turned up!

The run itself was tougher than I remembered, (like childbirth you forget!) almost 5 miles continual up hill, before looping back, and just when you think it will be down hill to the finish, it’s not, with a couple of tough hills to conquer before the end. Conditions underfoot were horrendous, mud, mud and more mud, some times sinking over my ankles, huge puddles to splash through and fallen branches to negotiate in the forest. This year they changed the route slightly, kindly adding an extra half a mile! It really is a beautiful run with simply stunning views, the challenge comes when trying to take your eyes off your feet and to admire your surroundings.

I met a lovely girl en route who was running, on advice from a friend, in road shoes, how she stayed upright, is beyond me.

I ran all the hills except the biggy which in my mind is unrunnable, but even walking it I managed to pass several others!

Towards the end I was getting tired and my breathing getting worse with every step, which caused another runner (who by the way walked the hills!) to point out a waiting ambulance! ***** cheek!

My aim was to come in under the 2 hour mark. I missed that by two minutes-I can live with that. Despite the conditions under foot and the extra half a mile I managed to knock 15 minutes off last years time and obtained a new running shirt, so not a bad morning. Those two minutes will wait till 2017!

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in cross country, Devon, Janathon, London Marathon, Running, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Oh My Obelisk, take two

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    You knocked if 15minutes???? WOW!!!!!
    SHAZZATUDE!!!!

  2. Methalda says:

    Wow! Well done. How on earth could you knock off 15 minutes with those conditions underfoot AND an extra half a mile added?!

  3. Sounds really tough…really really really tough! 15 minutes off your PB, Wow! Go Shaz!

  4. plustenner says:

    that is totally amazing Shaz!! well done xx

  5. As I said, you are badass. I am pondering attempting Killerton on Sat. How horrendous is the mud?!

  6. Steph says:

    Despite living in Devon for the majority of my life, I am always disappointed that the hills just seem to keep going and the downhills never really appear.

    Nice job on knocking the 15 minutes off! Result!

Leave a Reply

