Parkrun at last

This morning I did my first parkrun since the end of November, which to be honest is disgraceful.

I was awake early due to the wind and fully expected that once I looked at social media it would tell me it had been cancelled. I was still checking at 8 am, no announcement, so off I set. Madam laughed at me venturing out, hubby questioned my sanity (not for the first time) but I laughed back at them “It’s only wind it won’t kill me” (clearly forgetting at this moment of stupidity bravery that a falling tree at Killerton could indeed do me some harm!)

The run was fine, the mud not too bad and the wind only noticeable once when it was blowing me sideways until I turned right and then it was behind me. Yay. The time was not brilliant but tomorrow I have the first of three Sunday running events , so the idea was to take it easy. Valid excuse?

Tomorrows event is part one of the trilogy, I am calling them events to avoid the use of the word ‘race’. Part 1 and Part 3 are to be used as training runs towards the Grizzly on 1st March, Part 2 should be a race but the jury is out on that at the moment!

Todays chocolate was the Whole Almond Heaven, the swirls representing the swirly winds we are all experiencing here in the UK

swirl

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Parkrun at last

  1. winsometahn says:

    Definitely a valid excuse! Goodluck with the race…er, events tomorrow!

  2. sudebaker says:

    Love the symbolic chocolates 🙂 Delightful!

  3. plustenner says:

    i think it was muddy windy parkruns all round 🙂

  4. rundelrun says:

    “Parkrun at last” must be better than being “Last at parkrun”?

  5. oscardiamond says:

    Glad your parkrun went ahead. I’m afraid I’ll never eat a Whole Almond Heaven again. It will always remind me of the wind that blew my mate away.

  6. zoeforman says:

    It was a blustery old day at Parkrun today – took my breath away for a
    PW !

  7. Red Hen says:

    Your will power-running through muck and confining yourself to one choc per day-is incredible.

  8. Helen says:

    *reaches out and steals chocolate*

Leave a Reply

