Cat for Sale

The cat is on death row, yes Oscar is in the dog house.

At midnight he wanted to go out, to communicate this to me he persistently jumped on the bed and cried. This did not work, so he went down stairs cried louder and sharpened his running spikes on the carpet. I stumbled down stairs and let him out, grrr. At 5:15 am he started to have a conversation with a neighbours cat under our window. This started off a  friendly chat, within half an hour it escalated in to a full row, I can only assume the other feline teased him due to his coat colour. Poor Ginger. Stumble part two out of bed occurred to rescue him from the clutches of the bully. I returned to bed for hubby to tell me it was time to get up anyway, yes reader 5.45 am is a normal time to get up, others might say this is ridiculously early, but for us this is normal.

After the two stumbles I realised that the 24 miles I have run to date in Janathon have taken their toll somewhat on my legs, so abandoned the  planned 6 mile, instead I treated them to a two mile interval session. Oh it was a real treat too, they loved it, all that sharp burst of speed, followed by a recovery with my head firmly between my legs gasping for air! My lungs were also pleased, woke them up good and proper, I have been coughing ever since. On the upside it was dry and it was a balmy 12 degrees!

cat

I am so glad Oscar had a relaxing day. Now where is that hoover!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cat for Sale

  1. Tubontherun says:

    Poor Oscar (pfft… poor you – hate it when they do that). Our two scrat at the bottom of the bedroom door or body slam it when they want feeding. Irritating beyond belief.

    Well done on your interval session. Are you sure 6 miles wasn’t more preferable? 🙂

  2. jezsmith says:

    Well done for persevering and changing your schedule to meet your needs. Reading this I’m glad I don’t have a cat!

  3. Glad it’s not just me who’s got the runners hack – hope the cat is out of the doghouse soon. 😽

  4. plustenner says:

    how bizarre! it must have been full moon for ginger cats, my Fizz did almost exactly the same – cried to go out at stupid early o’ clock 🙂

  5. N’aww Oscar looks all sweetness and light there.

  6. sudebaker says:

    He’s adorable! But those are the ones you have to watch out for. When I returned from running, I found one of our darlings had left a hairball deposit for me on the kitchen floor. Oh joy!

  7. ilovelucca says:

    OMG…you almost gave me heart palpatations….Mr Puss puss was most alarmed….:) he thought his up and down at night business might have an abrupt end after i read the adventures of Oscar to him…

  8. mercyjm says:

    I wrote a long story about my cat which got eaten by an IT glitch, short story: I am on your side (but will home the cat, because I am soft)

  9. fortnightflo says:

    5.45m…I only see that time when its my getting home time after a night out, oh tell a lie I got up earlier than that when I ran VLM – that’s why my time was so crap!

  10. This made me chuckle. I frequently have similar experiences with my cats Tilly and Moo. They either fight with each other, knocked things off the window sill to be let out or jump on me when I am asleep in order to be let out/fed! Rascals!

Leave a Reply

