Wet Women on the Run

Five minutes after I set out on the three-mile run to the running group it started to rain. For the next 90 minutes it did not stop, but did alter in its degree of pouringness from gentle to pouring!

I found a new route to town (or is it a big village, never sure, it has banks, shops and a sainsburys so maybe a town) all cross-country, some of it along the old route of the LSWR Branch rail line, a lot better route than along the road, but tricky in parts as narrow, slippy and with steps.

As we waited for others to arrive we caught up on the news about the girl who fell last week. She has a chipped ankle bone and is due to go to the fracture clinic tomorrow. her half term with the kids has not been great!

It was really a miserable night at one point in the woods it was so dark we almost needed torches. I left the group as they headed back to town as we were near my route home. I am so glad I did as the rain came down heavier, the bushes soaked me even more as i brushed against them, my feet were very soggy by the time I got home.

One hairy (or should this be wooly) moment occurred when I came upon these sheep sheltering under the bridge,Capture oh ******, you see that stile in the far left corner I had to get over that. In true “I am going on a bear hunt style,”

I couldn’t go round it

I couldn’t go under it

I had to go through them

Cue a stampede of sheep which actually was quite scary!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wet Women on the Run

  1. zoeforman says:

    The joys of British summer. Don’t know why sheep sheltering wool is waterproof -whimsy woollies !

  2. I so relate with the sheep, except for me it’s cows. I’m forever dodging herds of cows and I agree it is a little scary. I got cut off from home once for ages because a herd of about 1000 were crossing my path to their milking shed and they weren’t in a hurry. I hope the lady with the chipped ankle bone heals quickly!

  3. Red Hen says:

    I cannot abide a wet run. Fair dues to you for sticking with it!

  4. Mavis hall says:

    Didn’t you have any mint sauce!?

  5. abradypus says:

    You’re braver than I am! Glad you survived your wooly encounter.

  6. fortnightflo says:

    It must be my Essex brain, I saw that title and thought ooooh saucy, Shaz!

Leave a Reply

