Women’s Running Magazine

Yesterday whilst Madam was swimming with her friend, I sat in the viewing area reading Women’s Running Magazine. I love this magazine but rarely get to read it all in one sitting so it was a real treat.

I read with interest the article on the 100 Marathon club. When you have run 50 marathons you get to be a ‘wannabe’ until you make the full 100 then you get a nice             t-shirt!. This got me thinking, always dangerous. I have completed 4 26.2 mile runs that makes it 96 to go, even I could work that out. Then I had to reach for the calculator to enable me to work out that if I ran a marathon a month for the next 8 years I would make it! Mmmmmmm by that time I would be 50 something and not far off 60 and to be honest probably would be on my second divorce, so maybe not a good idea! Louise this one is for you as Ultras count too!

I read with interest the article on running twice a day and the benefits this has. It included a list of questions, to see if you were double running able, as I answered yes to most of them this means I am ready to give it a go, apparently. Not surprisingly it recommends starting off just once a week doing this and only then an easy short run in the morning followed by a longer steadier run that night. I have decided to give this a go as part of the forthcoming Juneathon. Wednesday will be my designated double run day.

I read with great interest the article on Iron and why it is important to us runners. I have been anaemic for a number of years and recently after a routine blood test my new doctor asked me if I knew the reason for this, (I did resist the urge to suggest she should be telling me why!) I told her I assumed the reason was that I don’t eat much red meat, I not a veggie more a chickenie! I don’t like the iron supplements they make me feel quite ill, but she did suggest I take another multi vitamin that includes iron, after reading the magazine I need to make sure I do this. The article says that anaemia can cause excessive shortage of breath on exertion, which may well be the reason for my puffing billy impersonation, it also can cause fatigue and poor performance. The sooner I get on those multi vitamins the sooner I will be able to unleash my inner Paula Radcliffe!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Women’s Running Magazine

  1. plustenner says:

    Is my favourite magazine too 🙂 I read it sparingly to make it last longer LOL

  2. abradypus says:

    Hmmm. I’m not sure I need to start on another t-shirt quest. I’m obsessive enough about parkrun without adding marathons into the mix!

  3. I like this idea of running twice a day. Love to hear how it goes for you. Also, all you get is a t-shirt. Not sure it is worth it! 🙂

  4. Michelle S says:

    go on, you can do it!! Oscar will cheer you on:)…Womens running mag, we don’t get here 😦
    I Shall investigate, maybe one of the huge mag shops in the city will have it….But i do love runners world and like you i ekkk it out over a few days…then its wait wait wait till next month…

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Good god that is a mammoth task – you could do one a week and get it over and done with in 2 years – bit expensive though.

Leave a Reply

