Not making the grade

Since creating my own training plan I have been consistent in not completing all of the runs. Always something sapping my time, energy and motivation. First there was Christmas, then the bathroom and then this week an extraction. Granted the last one I gained a legitimate excuse, from a higher state (not just my Mum) that said NO RUNNING for 24 hours. Fortunately I had rattled off a 6 miler before turning up for said extraction.

All this missing training runs is playing on my mind and causing me to worry about it all. Looking at the  concocted plan, I realised I have added training for 6 days a week, why have I done this? I have trained for five marathons and have never trained 6 days a week. Silly. Time to adjust that plan I think. Seems its not just the Government that can move the goal posts!

Yesterday Madam and I turned up to a frozen parkrun. The run director was pondering whether to postpone it. I told him in no uncertain terms that seeing as I had dragged a teenager out of bed to be there he could not cancel it. I know he was worried about health and safety, but I was worried about MY health and safety. After a run briefing that went along the lines of run if you so wish, don’t come to us if you turn an ankle, mind the frozen ruts and the huge ice sheet down by the farm! Madam ran with me for the first mile and it was great to have her company, its been a long time. Once she warmed up she was off, a blur of lycra and high vis!

This morning I left the house at 6:30 am, fortunately the ice we had yesterday did not make a reappearance today or the long run would have been dangerous and probably undoable. I did 9 miles on my own before sweeping by to pick up my running buddy (not literally) and she dragged me round the next 6. Nice to have company on the hardest bit, a strategy I might have to replicate.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Marathon Training, parkrun, Running, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Not making the grade

  1. mawil1 says:

    Wow 15 miles! I did 8 but was begging for it to be over by 7! It sounds like you are doing better than you think😊 When is your marathon?

  2. Sounds like you are doing a great job. You’re running so well that a few missed runs won’t matter….and 18kms…wow! And as for a frozen parkrun, I’d be getting around that course anyway I could if I’d made the effort to get myself there let alone a teenager!

  3. Plans are meant to be changed! Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

