Doynton Hard Half Marathon-Part One

Sunday I am doing the above run. The organizers keep calling it a race, for me its a run. I usually would  not fret about a trail run. This one is different. Already I am fretting. Why the worry? The organizers have put in two cut off points, one at 5 miles and one at 9  miles, if you don’t get to these points in under 15 minute miles, you will not be going any further. Normally this speed would not be too much of a problem (maybe at mile 13!) but there are two contributing factors

1)The Elevation

Elev

Yes as hubby pointed out that second incline looks like Everest! The first two miles will be slow!

2) The terrain

Safe to say that might just slow me down a bit!

But on the upside, there is some nice scenery

Capture3

(Images shamelessly stolen from a social media post!)

 

My mantra for this, my first trail marathon will be

WDKYMUS

Doynton Hard Half Marathon-Part Two will follow-providing I survive!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in cross country, half marathon, Half Marathon Training, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Doynton Hard Half Marathon-Part One

  1. Thom says:

    Good luck.. You will have so much fun. Looks like a challenging but rewarding trail run

  2. plustenner says:

    you will smash it Shaz!!! Good luck x

  3. oscardiamond says:

    Good luck. Obviously very demanding, it looks a great run. I look forward to hearing how you do.

  4. mawil1 says:

    Ooh! Do you need ropes and crampons for that hill! I’m sure that you will rise to the challenge and the time limit! Have fun – I hope that you get a dry day☺️

  5. All the best lovely Shaz! You can do it!!! Be positive! You have the bestest Hillitude ever!!!!! And you get a free mud pack while you’re running…awesome!!! Think of how lovely your legs are going to be after getting a mud treatment xxx

  6. AprilRuns says:

    I suspect by now you are done and happy and smashed it! All my thoughts with you!

  7. Pingback: Doynton Hard Half Marathon-Part Two | shazruns

Leave a Reply

