Christmas Slacking

I always struggle with running in December, this year with the looming VLM in April I have managed to keep on trackish…..until last week went it went pear shaped, or more accurately, flat lined!

But I have a valid excuse……

January we are having a new bathroom fitted, actually we are getting rid of the bath, just having a shower instead and while we are at it, replacing everything. In prep for this on Monday. The plumber came on Monday and told us the lack of water pressure was due to the boiler, the boiler man came later and said the issue laid with the pipes, Tuesday the plumber returned changed a pipe and said the issue was now the boiler, Wednesday the boiler man retuned changed a part and said now the fault was definitely the pipes! So you can see between waiting in for either party to arrive, being involved in long discussions about flow and pressure there was little time and even less motivation to go running.

Christmas Day passed quietly, relaxing at home just us three and although I could have run, it would have jeopardised my marriage if I have suggested it, let alone done it!

Today (Boxing Day) we bravely ventured in to Exeter as Madam wanted to shop the sales. Hubby had a shirt to return, he is many things but never a 42″chest man! We also returned a duvet cover that although very practical (in that you could throw up on it and it would not notice kind of way!) but was not quite to our taste! That done we spent a leisurely few hours wandering the streets of Exeter, popping in to coffee shops for refreshments and even managed to purchase three cabin suitcases for our holiday this year, not that we have booked one yet! 

Oh and one other purchase for me, a hydration pack, can’t wait to try it out on my, long run in the morning. 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in London Marathon, Running, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Christmas Slacking

  1. mawil1 says:

    When it rains it pours! A runner needs a bathroom though – I hope that gets sorted soon. Please blog about your hydration pack, I don’t know whether to go for rucksack or waist belt ( or waist coat?) I will need something for long runs and am undecided . Carrying a bottle is tiresome and running with a small rucksack is ok but a bit irritating as it jigs up and down. Waist belts look a bit geeky but I would try one if they worked. I dare say that after 15 miles or so I really won’t care….!

    • shazruns says:

      Tomorrows blog (hopefully) will be about the hydration pack. I hate carrying a bottle in my hand and have tried the waist bottle carrier types but hate reaching round for the bottle every time. I wanted lumber pack but have read bad reviews only those on line. Watch this space……

  2. 27th Dec 2015 …. 07:24 …

    Have you left for your long run yet?
    Great description of the duvet cover, by the way. Let’s hope that whoever bought it for you doesn’t read your blog.

    Good luck with the next exciting instalment of… ‘Pipes man Vs Boiler Man!’

    Happy Christmas x

    • shazruns says:

      Done 4 miles by 7.24 Phil. Don’t worry safe on the duvet thing, the gifters don’t have Internet!
      Can’t wait till the 4th of Jan when it will be a whole week, of pipes, boilers, bathrooms, tiles and NO SHOWER! Please send pegs!

  3. runtezza says:

    Happy new bathroom! Sounds a great way to start the new year and I hope that seasonal peace and goodwill break out between the boiler man and pipe man in time for a successful installation.

  4. Sounds like a lovely Christmas Shaz and I’d be returning that duvet cover too. I’d be pulling my hair out with all the comings and going of trades people pointing the finger here and there. But a lovely new bathroom in the not to distant future – nice!

Leave a Reply

