Hydration Pack Review

Last Sunday I ran with a hydration pack for the first time ever.

I have had a few long runs recently where I have struggled and I put this down in part to not taking a drink with me. (Also need to fuel better before heading out!) I usually reckon I can run 13 miles without a drink in the winter, but this year our weather has been so warm that on one particular run the muddy farm puddles looked tempting and at this point I knew it was time to cut the run short and head home. Previously I have used a belt that holds a bottle, but really find this a pain to use, the bottle sits in my back and reaching round and unhooking it was always tricky, given my habit of easily falling over.

Many an hour has been spent on the internet, researching hydration packs. Firstly I wanted a lumbar one, but reading the reviews on-line,  lots of people had trouble with these chaffing and it seems they are more geared to cyclists than runners.

Boxing day saw me in a sports shop, where the hydration packs were conveniently located 10 feet up the wall! Fortunately there was a man with a tool nearby to assist. I opted for the Camelbak

It took me some while to work out how the drinking valve worked and I wished it had come with instructions.

Sunday was test day. 14 miles. For those in the know I went from the village across the fields (off-road in the dark was interesting!), up to East Hills Strips (Hare and Hounds), did the Woodland Relay route, then back off-road to home. It was a great run. The hydration pack worked a treat, once I got used to the valve which to my mind, opens in a closed position!

Being in the woods before the sun came up with the owls for company was quite magical.

If you are thinking of getting a hydration pack, think no more, go out there and get one. I love this Camelbak one, no chaffing, lightweight and no bouncing. The best running accessory I have ever purchased. I think we will have many adventures together. My only concern is the colour, in the summer, I wont want a black pack on my bag, so might just have to invest in one for the summer!

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Marathon Training, Running, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hydration Pack Review

  1. Thanks for the review Shaz. I’ve got several different hydration belts and like my Nathan one the best but I’m about to invest in a backpack style so your review has been helpful. Paul has a Kathmandu hydration pack and likes that.

  2. oscardiamond says:

    Yes, I don’t like belts particularly. I might try a hydration pack in the summer. Drinking sufficiently is now number one priority after I became dehydrated following the Cambridge half a few years ago.

  3. momof3 says:

    i need to find one that can carry food/nutrition as well. does the camelback have any pockets?

Leave a Reply

