My week

My week consisted of 500 miles of driving, a meeting, time with the relics, an interval run, hill reps (or as I was in Essex-gradual incline reps) shopping, work, two goats cheese tarts in one day,  resisting eating chocolates, present delivering, technical support, pressure washing the car, drinking wine and sherry (hydration important obviously) having fibre optic internet fitted and consequently spending an hour getting the printer to talk to the new internet. Phew!

That was all packed in to Monday to Friday.

I was looking forward to a more relaxing weekend starting with Saturday, mmmmmmm, sometimes plan don’t work out do they?

The plan was to do my Dalmatian parkrun (101), shop for food, sit!

The lovely Katy from Trying To Tri was running her first parkrun in a very long time, coming back after a horrendous injury incurred in the summer after an heroic triathlon in the Alps, she sensibly opted for the flatter safer Exeter parkrun, I was glad to join her. The weather was less than pleasant, with wind and rain. Conditions underfoot on the rugby field casued me to run like Bambi on ice. I was glad to get back on terra ferma and just as I passed someone with a mile to go I was aware he was speeding up. “I am going to hang on to you, if you don’t mind” he panted, “no problem, you push I will pull” I gasped (as pick up lines I am sure we could have both done better! ) Interestingly the last mile resulted in my fastest mile, so thanks to the stranger for the help. Over all a pretty poor time, the legs have lost all speed at the moment! Happy to see Katy come through, looking fresh as a daisy. Fabulous to see her back running, first of many I hope.

The drive home was horrible, flooding, spray and mist all to contend with.

On arrival at home it became apparent that the cat was not well, the fact that he was hiding under the bed, despite there being no fireworks was my first clue. That morning, he had got me up at 5 am to go out and on return two hours later, he had lost his collar and was walking very slowly. I thought with some rest he might pick up, this was not to be. Fortunately the vets operate for an hour on a Saturday. Off we set. An anti-inflammatory and antibiotics were administered by the vet and we have to go back on Monday. I have warned the family that as this had eaten in to my Christmas dinner fund its either go hungry on the 25th or eat the cat!

This morning I run long, then I food shopped (got to love Devon where on the Sunday before Christmas you can shop in Tesco and walk right up to a till to pay, no long queues like Essex!) the rest of the day I shall sit!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, ginger cat, London Marathon, parkrun, Running, vet, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My week

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Hope the cat is going to be ok…

  2. Thanks for joining in with the ‘boring flat one’!! Was so great to see you. Maybe I’ll be able to keep up…..in a few months….!! X ps hope the mog is feeling better.

  3. Poor Oscar, hope he’s ok! Dalmatian parkrun hehe love it!

  4. mawil1 says:

    Poor cat – just what you need at Christmas tho! I hope it all turned out well in the end. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

