You can come out now the monster is gone

Gone as in gone home. Not gone as in  ‘justifiable homicide placed under the patio kind of way!’ Believe me it would have been justifiable!

When I first met hubby, I used to hear stories about hubby’s mother, but I thought they were just that, stories. 16 years on and I know it is the truth!

I scrubbed, cleaned, polished and dusted in preparation for this VIP. I even put my new Union Jack duvet cover on the spare bed in her honour. (Any German should feel priveledged to sleep under such a fine flag, don’t you think?) Within in an hour of her arrival, I really wished I hadn’t bothered after she told me I was disgraceful, kind of set a tone for the next few days. She is the only person I know who arrives for a visit with her own butter, coffee, juice and custard creams! Hubby did sterling work taking them off out each day whilst I worked.  A medal will surely be coming his way for his work with the elderly!  Me? Well I ran! Thank you running! Monster returned home today, I can now continue to be disgraceful in peace!

Besides THE vist it has been an odd week, where I have not managed my hour lunch break, best laid plans and all that! Actually it was the dentists fault, mostly. Monday I went for an appointment, a follow up from treatment at Easter. On arrival they could not find my x-ray, I was sent home. Thursday I was called and told they could not find it at all, could I pop by for another x-ray? I did pop. When I say pop, the journey is an hour trip, so that was another lunch hour gone. On arrival, I was told they had found said x-ray! As the tooth has settled down I was sent on my way. Yes a miracle has occurred I have had two visits to the dentist in a week, my bank account and I have come away unscathed, this has never happened before in the history of Shaz’s teeth. 

On the running front, I think I am getting there, finally. I even managed an 8 mile on Wednesday, along the river, the route chosen for its flatness. The added bonus to this mid week long run was that when I got home, all monsters had gone to bed. Thank you running.

This morning I managed another 30 seconds off my Killerton parkrun time. Boy it was hard though, so warm and humid. Honestly when I got to the end I thought I was going to vomit. I spent sometime with my head between my legs fighting the nausea. However ten minutes later I did manage a piece of Killerton parkrun 4th birthday cake! Can always eat cake.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to You can come out now the monster is gone

  1. Disgraceful? Sheesh!

    :-/

    I hope you manage to keep things harmonious with your other half, at least. That can’t be easy.
    You deserve a medal…

    … I have one from Huddersfield with the wrong ribbon attached, if you’d like that one?

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Haaahahahaaaahaaaa!!!! Omg you made my day!!!! My monsterinlaw was a staunch Afrikanner… Lol! I put a portrait and quote of Nelson Mandela a over ‘her’ chair in the lounge… It was a beautiful quote… Something about being fully free once you give others their freedom!!!! OMG she nearly swallowed her teeth, had a heart attack AND began frothing at the mouth… Needless to say I was never forgiven šŸ™‚ ahhhh the joys!
    So it was faaaab to read your story!!!

    Bloody well done on your running!!!! I’m BACK (hopefully) this week…
    Have a fab one xxx

  3. Oh my goodness Shaz! I’m a little lost for words with your monster-in-law. It’s a lesson in how not to be as a mother-in-law, house guest, friend generally as a person. Good on hubby for taking her out each day. I had a giggle about the teeth! And very well done on the running front. That’s awesome to have taken 30 seconds off your time!!! Here’s hoping for a nice routine smooth week for you x

  4. winsometahn says:

    Great job with the running… and surviving the monster-in-law!

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    PS still chuckling at the UJ duvet cover!!!!! genius!!!!

  6. Tubontherun says:

    Oh blineyand I thought I sometimes had it tough with my mother in law!

Leave a Reply

