The Hippo

The running club organises a run called the Honiton Hippo, I was intending to do this one this year, though thought better of it after my recent injury. Sensible? Yes obviously! Lucky escape? Quite possibly! This is how it is described on the web site

‘A Tough Multi-terrain race with Roughly 7 miles of Mud, Sweat and Tears
(Oh yes, the odd hill and 2 rivers thrown in too for good measure!)’

thanking my lucky stars and my dodgy ankle I volunteered to be a marshall and for Madam to run the Hippo Calf! She ran it last year so would be interesting to see how she fared this year.

The morning was bright but with a killer breeze.

A record number turned out to do the 7 miles probably due to the bright weather, the mad fools!

I had a lovely time telling people what to do and where to go before heading back to the start to see how Madam had done. This year the course was tougher with a diversion off the road in to the river (last year the water was too high!) I was amazed at the depth, especially as a lot of the calf runners were a lot smaller than Madam.

kate

Look at that face! Think the water might have been cold! Apparently she needed help getting up the bank on the other side and had trouble getting back out on to the road! Despite all this she beat last years time by 33 seconds, achieving third girl and another medal and trophy to add to her collection! That is following a PB 5k time at the club handicap on Wednesday by 1 minute 44 seconds. 12 seconds to go and she will be in the 21 minutes!

Am off to do some speed work so I don’t get left behind!

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Hippo

  1. Lesley says:

    What a star, well done madam xxxx

  2. Awesome job to Madam and very sensible Shaz – a big star for you for taking on the marshal role 🙂

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    Wow! Following in Mums footsteps!!!! Xxx

  4. winsometahn says:

    23 minute 5k!! She is one speedy Madam! Definitely looks like you had a lucky escape!

  5. I think the water looks lovely! How refreshing.

Leave a Reply

