London Marathon

Like many of you, I have spent some time this week watching the footage from Sunday’s London Marathon. I love watching it, following the stories, watching the struggles, feeling the pain of the runners as they run the 26.2 miles, reliving my adventures around the course.

Then the dilemma starts. To enter 2016’s run or not! The dilemma stems from my desire not to run a marathon, ever, ever again, aah but London is different! However this year entry procedures have changed. The last few years the ballot has been opened, those of us wishing to ensure we get our entry in would set an alarm for rude o’clock to guarentee getting our name down. This year they will open entry Monday 4th May and close it the 8th. Call me cynical but some rebranding has gone on Virgin London Marathon, has become Virginmoney London Marathon, a coincidence? I think not. Working on this basis I will be doing things differently, I will be entering, but I will not be opting for the option to donate my entry fee, to be able to get through to a second ballot, if this fails I would receive a VLM fleece/hoody/top. No, I have no wish to line Richard Branson’s large pockets. No place no fee Richard!

The chances of me running this iconic event are slim with this new entry system, unless I get a club place, or of course a good for age time (sub 4 hours), correction the chances of me running this iconic event are VERY UNLIKELY! But I will try!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Marathon Training, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to London Marathon

  1. Ooooo…Good luck.

    I have been lucky enough to run it three times. On the ballot each time…albeit with a five year gap between each. Nothing will beat that first time though. My first marathon. My fastest ever marathon (I’ve done six now). Definitely iconic.
    I would so love it if you got in.

    I’m not entering so that improves your chances ever so slightly.

    • shazruns says:

      Thank you for not entering. Can’t believe you got in three times in the ballot, send me some of that luck!

      • The first time WAS luck (on the second attempt)… the other two were as a result of trying and failing repeatedly, back in the day when four consecutive fails guaranteed you entry for the following year.

      • shazruns says:

        In that case I think we even I have had one charity place, one lucky place and one on the consecutive rejection rule!

  2. I hope you get in Shaz! Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

