Tapering

Tapering is meant to be ‘the practice of reducing exercise in the days just before an important competition’ (thanks Wikipedia)

and nothing to do with thisTapir unless you are Phil and can’t spell (if there is one thing I know about Phil it is that he can spell!)

Tapering a la Shaz is probably better being referred to as ‘coming to a complete halt’

Why?

Well I have received an order from on high. He said in no uncertain terms NO RUNNING till Wednesday. This order came from higher than the Doctor, higher than hubby (ok so that’s not so high!) higher than the physio, higher than the internet advice centre (read google), this ORDER came from my DAD! He knows a little bit a bit about blisters and has had is fair share, so I better listen.

Special dispensation given for parkrun yesterday using the theory that this the ground is gentler on the feet than road running. Thanks Dad!

As I stood freezing at the start I spotted a man wearing these

flip flopsrunning flip flops. Must reduce the chance of blisters but on my way round thought about this runner as we ran through cow pats, thick cold mud, dirty splashy puddles, rocky paths, wet long grass and over these

conkers

ouch. Not for me, I like my feet cleaner, dryer and ouch free.

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in parkrun, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tapering

  1. Tubontherun says:

    flip flops round Killerton?! Was he mad?! It’s the thought of the splinters that get me. Urgh.

    Good call from the Higher Power though!

  2. Cheeky 😉

    Enjoy your tapir

  3. winsometahn says:

    There was a guy at Loch Ness wearing those! I was happy in my trainers!
    Enjoy the taper & I hope the blisters clear up quickly!

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    ahhhh ‘barefoot running’! i LOVE those, so want a pair… but then for me ‘less is more’ when it comes to footwear… LOVE my Nike Frees… read Born to Run and when i put it down all i wanted were a pair!!! 🙂

  5. Hedwigia says:

    Lovin’ the tapir. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.