Planning around the weather is important

This week’s planning on when to run proved very important indeed.

  • Monday’s run with the club was planned and in the dry, cold but dry
  • Tuesday was a planned rest (oh my favourite)
  • Wednesday was not a planned rest day but the weather deemed it necessary
  • Thursday I did intervals planned after the hail storm stopped, but whilst it was still cold and the hail lay thick on the ground
  • Friday’s weather enforced a rest day
  • Planned Killerton Parkrun not possible due to cancellation something to do with the weather! Instead I laid in bed till the rain cleared, got dressed then waited again for the rain to stop, brushed my teeth, then waited again for the precipitation to cease then manned up and got out there for half an hour, I got wet!

Todays LSR should have been planned a bit more it turned out, not due to the current weather, due to the historical stuff as this was the path 2 minutes in to the run

Flooded path

yucky puddle, not wanting to get wet feet this soon in to the run and not wishing to get my new, white socks dirty I had to do a huge detour. Not very impressed as this meant conquering a hill – twice!

It was a cold morning, frost on the ground ensured I kept the pace slow. It was a beautiful morning.

Very much the calm after the storm.

Two weeks I ran along here on a wide path, this is now a pile of rubble due to the storms we have been having. Hide to believe really as this is quite a way up the estuary, but still the damage is incredible.

If I would have thought about it I might have run elsewhere, but I did not even consider that there would be a problem. I must admit tiptoeing along this path caused me some concern, not relishing the idea of possibly falling in to the water or have what was left of the wall collapse underneath me!

Some boats won’t set sail again!

It was lovely to be out in the sun again!

Week one of training plan done.

Am very thankful that I did not enter the Exeter Half held today, I did not enter on the basis that it is a two lap course, can’t think of anything worse that doing one lap and then thinking, I’ve got to do all that over again! Due to flooding they had to change the course and ended up doing 3 shorter laps. Smart decision, Shaz!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Planning around the weather is important

  1. Red Hen says:

    Looks like we`ve had a similar running/resting week! Though I can`t boast of better pics than yours!

  2. iwalkicycle says:

    Beautiful light in your pictures!

  3. abradypus says:

    There’s a certain comfort in laps and you do have the chance to bond with the marshals as you pass them again and again and again 🙂

Leave a Reply

