Running Club followed by nookie!

No not that kind, do you mind my Mum reads this! No the Gnocchi kind of nookie. Never sure how to say it so we call it nookie. I am partial to nookie Gnocchi and was pleased when found this recipe on the web. (Thanks to Canadian Living) Hubby raved about it (yes dear it would be good with ____ and ____ also but suggest in that case you make it yourself! honestly he thinks he is John Torode sometimes) so much so I knew I had to share it with you.

Chicken and Dumplings

Ingredients

  • 2 cups 500 mL chicken broth
  • 1 lb  boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 2 tbsp 30 mL butter
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 4 leeks trimmed and slice
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2  tbsp. 30 mL flour
  • 1/2 tsp  dried thyme
  • 1 pkg 500 g Gnocchi pasta (potato dumplings)
  • 1/2 cup  frozen peas

Preparation

  • In saucepan, bring broth and 1-1/2 cups water to boil. Add chicken; reduce heat, cover and simmer, turning once, until no longer pink inside, about 12 minutes. Transfer chicken to plate, reserving broth. Shred or chop chicken and set aside.
  •  Meanwhile, in large saucepan, melt butter over medium heat; cook onion and leeks, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 3 minutes. Stir in carrot; cook until carrot is slightly softened, about 3 minutes.
  • Stir in garlic, flour and thyme; cook, stirring constantly, for 2 minutes. Gradually stir in reserved broth; bring to boil. Reduce heat to medium; simmer until vegetables are tender, 8 to 10 minutes.
  • Stir in gnocchi, peas and chicken; cook, stirring occasionally, until gnocchi are tender, 3 to 5 minutes

Serve in soup bowls with large spoons. Yummy

I had to wait until after running club to have my bowl and believe me it was great to come home to. The club always splits in to two after a warm up and the question was whether to go long or short, my fear on joining the A team was being tale end Enid but no I held my own, towards the back but not the tale.

Home, hot shower, onesie, warm jumper, nookie and a cup of tea great end to a Monday!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Running Club followed by nookie!

  1. Mavis hall says:

    I only know about playing hookie! How come you’re blogging in the middle of the day. I tell the Boss.

  2. Nookie is great.
    I don’t do it enough but I often find when I do, I leave it in too long and then it goes a bit sticky.
    How long would you say was best?

  3. TartanJogger says:

    Ha! I’m going to start calling gnocchi nookie from now on!

  4. Well done, as much for the nookie as the ‘not coming last in the run’ thing! Can you tell I don’t do running, although I have cycle thing coming up soon!

  5. Red Hen says:

    I`m heading to Italy shortly. Must look out for gnoochi. Never tried it before but it sounds like I might be in for a treat!

Leave a Reply

