No Parkrun

Saturday as you know is Killerton Parkrun day, but not yesterday, yesterday it was cancelled due to the high winds and flooding in the area. I was gutted, this means that the red t-shirt is another week away! Totally understand why they stopped it though the weather has been horrendous, will it ever end? Not this week by the look of it.

Instead I laid in bed till 8:45, then headed out the door for a village parkrun at 9 am. I stayed close to home not trusting the weather, it was not a great run, by the end of it I felt as rough as the weather!

In the afternoon Madam and I headed in to Exeter so she could attend some high jump training. This gave me a chance to check out the level of the River Exe

DSCN4003

 

it was HIGH, no surprise there. On the left of the picture you will see a row of small trees, these are on the edge of the river normally, the water is over the cycle/running/walking path that I have run along before.

This man in is wellies did not let it stop him

DSCN4007

I only hope he’s on the walking side, so the cyclists can pass!

After an unsuccessful running week time to take myself in hand and start my half marathon training plan, this will then give me a chance to research and then implement a marathon training plan.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to No Parkrun

  1. Gosh, I hope the weather improves.

  2. WalkToRio says:

    It hasn’t stopped raining in here today, but we don’t get as bad as you up north.
    I hope the weather give all of you a break, and you can get your red tshirt.

  3. I agree, will it ever end? SO fed up of the rain and wind

  4. Tubontherun says:

    Next week, that red t-shirt will be yours!

  5. abradypus says:

    Boo! *shakes fist at weather*

  6. iwalkicycle says:

    Ah shame about parkrun! Hope it dries up a bit for next week….fingers crossed!

  7. Sam says:

    I think it’s allowed that you have an easy week when your county is flooded! Good luck with the half marathon training 🙂

  8. sudebaker says:

    You need a snorkel.

  9. Maybe you should train for a triathlon! Looks like you could get some good swimming training in.
    I hope it dries up for you so you can get that red shirt!

  10. zoeforman says:

    Crazy weather back home. Think I’ll stick with my snowboarding as cross training ! Please dry up so we can run & ride again.

  11. Red Hen says:

    Hopefully we`ll look back on this as a very wet start to Spring from the vantage point of brighter sunnier days! Gosh I can hardly wait for that!

Leave a Reply

