Staycation day 1 or half marathon training week three completed

This morning the Oldies, or if you like the Wrinklies or my new favourite the Relics (thanks Paige for this one) returned home to Essex.

Today is the first day of our family holiday which means two things, 1) the weather takes a turn for the worse 2) I will blog our adventures daily (apologies in advance)

We woke to rain and this continued all morning and most of the afternoon, for those of you in the rest of the country that had nice weather, we DON’T want to hear about it!

Hubby decided he wanted some new trainers, not for running in you understand, more for getting from A to B in, so off we went to Exeter. No trainers purchased but we almost bought a new sofa. Next we went to Tesco’s for potatoes and came out with pizza, sauce, nuts, bananas, crisps, bisto AND potatoes, why can we never just come out with the one item we went in for?

On returning home I threw my kit on, well admittedly it was more slowly dragged it on to my reluctant body. I really did not want to go out, I certainly did not want to run 8 miles in hilly Devon in the drizzly rain. But I did it and due to my useless maths which gets worse when running I did it 4 minutes faster than the plan required!

Passed this house at mile one, isn’t it lovely?

20130804-201410.jpg

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Staycation day 1 or half marathon training week three completed

  1. Red Hen says:

    Eight miles. And four minutes early? Great going!

  2. abradypus says:

    So telling you about the fabulous Canadian weather I had on my recent holiday would be a bad thing?

  3. zoecakes says:

    At least you remembered the one thing you went to Tesco for amongst the other stuff – I usually end up with everything but! 😉

Leave a Reply

