Staycation day two

Our  morning started off with a trip to the dentist -yes we really know how to have a good time on holiday! I have got to go back for a twenty-minute filling appointment by which they mean the cement mixer will be fired up outside ready to go, hubby of course only needs to go back in a year-Grrrrrrrrrr (Mr b***** Perfect!)

As the weather was doing its usual thing of tipping it down we opted to go to Bideford to the shopping outlet in search of hubbys ‘non running, barely moving trainers’, these were successfully purchased as were two Christmas decorations, (one up on the relics who got their cards when they were visiting) running socks for me (Nike are the best for these I think), the trip ended with a Pasty just to prove to ourselves that yes we are on holiday.

It was still pouring after lunch so on the way home we stopped at Dartington Crystal where we watched them expertly make some decanters. Madam decided then and there that glass blowing was not a career for her as the heat from the furnaces was immense, something to do with the fact that they heat it to 1400 celcius.

DSCN2877DSCN2883

we spent some time looking around the museum where we learnt about a man called Frank Thrower who was one of their glass designers, he obviously had a fun-filled life…..

wives

I was thrilled to learn that one of his ‘friends’ was a Sharon

sharon even more thrilled to be a ‘Best ever product’!!

made in uk

Even being slightly imperfect I am still expensive! Unfortunately like my own shape I did not rate the shape of the Sharon collection or I might have been tempted to purchase a glass or two.

This huge, beautiful glass was desinged for the 2012 Olympic Games.

DSCN2876

Rumour has it that the Sun might make an appearance tomorrow.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Staycation day two

  1. plustenner says:

    I think from now on I will have a ‘Sharon of wine’ instead of a ‘larg glass of wine’ 🙂

  2. Red Hen says:

    Those days out to something different really make a holiday. Well, apart from visiting the dentist of course.

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Haha a Sharon of wine – I love it!!! Thats what we’ll have after the Cardiff half!

Leave a Reply

