Pain in the neck

For about 6 months now on and off I have had a pain/ache in the neck/shoulder area. Many things were blamed for it.

Open window causing a draft on my neck-window closed.
Bad pillows-purchased new very expensive ones.
Driving all over the country-check posture when behind wheel.
Working too much on a computer-retired (I wish)-now use a mouse rather than mouse pad.
Playing on iPad too much-reduced time.

None of these remedies worked and still I suffered (not silently) but this weekend the true culprit became known. I had run only once last week (oops) and Saturday afternoon I joined my running buddy for 5 miles catch up (that’s me running after her as well as exchanging news), it was a nice run and I am glad we managed to fit it in, however afterwards my neck was stiff and achy again. This must mean I am tense and scrunched up when running so must check posture when next out. Hubby’s suggestion of me wagging my arms about to loosen them up whilst out running is not one I will be taking up and I would imagine RB will be grateful for that!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pain in the neck

  1. plustenner says:

    I know for a fact that I run with my shoulders hunched up – only have to look at photos of my races šŸ™‚ am trying to make an effort to run with shoulders down now

  2. fortnightflo says:

    LOL – also do you turn to look at her when you are talking – that could cause the neck pain…

  3. Pingback: Midwinter Gloom | Fortnightflo

Leave a Reply

