Let the training begin

Last weekend I gave myself a stern talking to and as that is the only person I listen too I started training for VLM 2013. Starting half term week was not a great idea but this is how it went.

  • Monday I got up silly early and did 5 miles (clearly counts as two runs as getting up at 4.30 when you are off work is insane)
  • Tuesday was a rest day (this is part of training Alma says so)
  • Wednesday managed 5 miles round muddy hilly country lanes whilst madam was with horses
  • Thursday shopping (this is part of training Rachel says so) purchased a Kelly Holmes  running top from Tesco in the sale, this is bound to make me go faster
  • Friday read and made notes from my Women’s Marathon Training book (this is part of training Carla says so)
  • Saturday ran 10 miles with running buddy managed to do this quicker than previous time so pleased with that
  • Sunday thought about those running a marathon in less than pleasant conditions, now that must count as training

Now week two might be tougher as hubby is away and I have to go to Leicester one day, so this week I will adopt an every run counts strategy, no mindless plods but effort for each session. This morning I did 15 minutes of intervals, tomorrow I will do hills (one repeatedly) Friday a tempo five (maybe) and of course I will continue to read, rest and shop!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let the training begin

  1. abradypus says:

    Getting up at 4:30 is insane whether you have work or not!

  2. plustenner says:

    great start! but 4:30?!?! 🙂

  3. fortnightflo says:

    4.30am I’ve said it before. I’ll say it again. You have LOST THE PLOT!!! Oh and guess what – there is a draw for another place in VLM at running club tomorrow so keep your fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

