Charmouth Challenge

Last Saturday afternoon I did the Charmouth Challenge.

This event has been on my radar for a long while. I avoided it previously due to the fact it is billed as a ‘Fell Race’. To me this meant I had to navigate my way without the aid of marshals, tapes and signs. This kind of adventure I can do without. Apparently this is not so and the ‘Fell’ comes about due to the elevation. Happy with that I entered, hills I can cope with (just) getting lost not so much!

I dragged the family along as support, mainly because it was a nice day and Charmouth is on the coast and the bribe of fish and chips might have had something to do with their compliance.

Most events are held on a Sunday morning but not this one, it started at 2 pm on a Saturday which gave me a chance to fit a sneaky parkrun in at Seaton in the morning, in hindsight this was probably not a good idea.

It was a beautiful day but at least 10 degrees too warm to be running 8 miles. Much is made of the fact that you go over the top of Golden Cap, the highest point on the South West Coast path. But let me tell you that was not the hardest part. The toughest section came in the first 2 miles where you climbed from sea level to 180 metres. I tried really hard to run the whole way up, but it was hot so I didn’t. The steps up to Golden Cap were a breeze after this, but the steps down trickier for those of us who are more clunky than agile!

See the zip zag path?

I took it easy, to put it mildly and tried to look up and enjoy the amazing scenery. I so wish I had taken my camera really is an amazing place to run. I was very glad to get to the end and receive my beautiful mug. Planning on going back next year to do this one, hopefully in cooler weather when I can try harder possibly,

Madam and hubby had had a nice time sunning themselves on the beach and mainly wondering why I was taking so long. The teenager had left the house in her winter jacket (you know the one she does not wear all winter) and had managed to take that off so that by the time I finished so that was a win!

We grabbed our dinner and went and sat on the cliff job with a cider. Not a bad way to spend the day.

Tomorrow I shall run the 50k Ham to Lyme run for the second time. I think I am looking forward to it, slightly worried that I have not formally trained for this, but failing anything else it will be a nice day out in the countryside with some free food on the way.

My toe nail has just fallen off so that could effect things but I will try and soldier on!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running, trail running, Training for an Ultra, ultra running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Charmouth Challenge

  1. And a cool mug for the win! 😊

  2. mawil1 says:

    Eurgh re toenail! Fortunately with so many beautiful things to photograph, scenery, fab mug and picnic, you spared us that!!

  3. sudebaker says:

    These runs along ridges…not for the faint of heart. Good job, shaz! Drink from your mug and be proud 🙂

  4. Oh my, that looks like a beautiful course. Hope the 50k went well?
    I can feel the toe nail situation all the way here. I have the same problem after my longest race yet ( https://runfredrikrun.wordpress.com/2017/07/10/trail-running-silverleden-2017-how-i-fininshed-my-longest-ultra-marathon/ )
    Thank you for sharing a great story!!

  5. Looks like a beautiful place to run but sounds tough. Love the mug.

Leave a Reply

