Happiest times two

Last night I painted my toe nails, go faster gold, packed my bag, laid out my clothes (including baggy non chaffing knickers), charged my Garmins (yes that’s and another story for another blog) and set my alarm for very nasty o’clock for a Sunday morning o’clock.

I had my happy scale sorted….
Happy:-A PB
Happier:- A time just over the 2 hours
Happiest:- A sub 2 hour time

I thought of things to worry about on the 2 hour drive up to Wales, like I’d forgotten my Garmins, the toll bridge (yes the Welsh charge us to enter their country although it’s free to leave which must speak volumes but not sure what it says really) would not accept my credit card and the only cash I had was for parking and what would I do about parking if I had no cash…… Etc, by the time I got to the car park, I pulled in to the first spot, yanked on the hand brake and dashed for the loo, just making it in time!

It was cold and started to rain as we waited for the start and I pondered why on earth I put myself through this stress, really isn’t it meant to be fun? Why stress?, it’s not like A) I am going to win B) I am going to win my age C) I am going to get a new old ladies world record. But stress I do. Wish I could rock up chilled, and just go out and enjoy, not worrying about times, or pace.

Cutting to the chase the run went well, the first mile a bit congested, I think they are allowing too many entries, after that time flew by. Special mention to the……
Man pulling a cross, I may not understand your religious convictions,but I applaud your stamina, strength and courage to undertake such a task.
Spider-Man – really wished you did not run so near me all the way, I got tired of hearing the crowd shout “come on spidey”
The lady with the irritating cough-fore goodness sake have a drink of water
Wheelchair athletes-simply well done
The man carrying a 50lb back pack-wow

The crowds were amazing and having run the route last year, it was nice to recognise the sights, but interestingly not a Jelly Baby in sight!

My time? 1:56:07 (last year 2:07:10) so as you can imagine I am beyond happiest! All that and I got a nice medal and shirt too

IMG_1263-0.JPG

IMG_1262-1.JPG

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Marathon Training, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Happiest times two

  1. theblogrunner says:

    Awesome work, a huge well done and massive congratulations! Just a thought, but do you reckon the painted toe nails helped? I could do with some of that Go Faster Gold myself. πŸ˜‰

  2. Helen Liz says:

    Fabulous – you should be as happy as a very happy thing after that!

  3. Oh my goodness, awesome time Shaz!!! And in the rain too – very impressed. Love the medal πŸ™‚ I so hear you with the ‘go spidey’. I recently ran near two Asian gentleman both dressed as Elvis. Every time someone cheered them (frequently) they would say ‘Thank you velly much’ – it gave me the giggles. Very well done Shaz on an awesome half πŸ™‚

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    WOW!!!!! Congrats!!!!! I’m SO going to get some of those BaggyNoChaffKnickersAlaShaz now!!!! πŸ™‚ couldn’t wait to read your blog post xxx so well done xxx Inspiring and THEN some!!!

  5. iwalkicycle says:

    Ah fantastic! A really good achievement – well done πŸ™‚

  6. Mmmm… Baggy, non-chafing knickers are obviously the way forward.
    Great going, Sharon. Really well done !
    πŸ™‚

  7. sudebaker says:

    Great job! I hear you on the stressing and non-chafing undies. And people in costume…WTH?! Nothing like seeing random tutus and necklaces lining the race course as you progress.

  8. Woohoo! Congratulations. That is so speedy!! All those training runs have paid off. Well done you. Xx

  9. plustenner says:

    so that’s the secret to a sub2 HM.. baggy non-chafing knickers πŸ™‚
    you are amazing Shaz xxx

  10. Congrats, way to go! I’m with you with the cough, please, oh please get drink at the water stop! It’s always fun to take in the scenery and enjoy those around you. Congrats again on the sub2 hours, you rock!

  11. winsometahn says:

    Shaz!!! That is brilliant, congratulations on an amazing PB! You are clearly on track for an amazing marathon.
    (Aren’t the coughers annoying, I had a man snorting like a horse near me!).

  12. Tubontherun says:

    Woohoo! Nice job and massive congratulations! Sorry we didnt make it over to cheer you on (left a bit later than intended).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.