The Lost Garden of Heligan

I am not big on gardens, not being much of a gardener, but I have always hankered after going to The Lost Gardens of Heligan. My two travel companions, have not been so keen, hence despite holidaying in Cornwall for three year I until today not been there. Heligan is a garden that fell in to disarray when most of the gardeners went off to the First World War. In 1990 the gardens were discovered and slowly restored. Click here for the timeline here
I wish I had the lap top then I could post lots of photos, I took loads. Maybe I will do a photo montage next week.
Here are just a few of my favourites

IMG_1193.JPG

IMG_1204.JPG

IMG_1166.JPG
I loved this Ram because he has the same hair as me!

IMG_1201.JPG
Madam touched this bat, hanging at knee level thinking it was a cocoon or dead leaf, we were all amazed to realise what it was.

IMG_1149.JPG
Extremely glad I have ticked this off my to do list!
My run this morning was 5 miles on the Cornwall Coast path to Watergate Bay, wind blowing rain falling and unfortunately the foot hurting.

IMG_0814.JPG

IMG_0816.JPG
Those dots in the sea are surfers, mad, it was not even 8 am!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Photography, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Lost Garden of Heligan

  1. That bat looks amazing. Cool.

  2. paigesato says:

    bats are so cool, but I’m terrified of them. Bravo to the Madam for getting so close (and to you for taking its pic). The flowers are amazing, too.

  3. hels205 says:

    Those gardens are magnificent. I spent a whole day wandering around and still didn’t manage to see all of it. Fabulous picks and bats!!! I missed them last time! Wow!

  4. Beautiful photos! I will look forward to the montage.

  5. runtezza says:

    That dot on the cliff path was a runner etc 🙂 Great photos as ever.

  6. Red Hen says:

    And you, mad one, were out there running at 8 am on your holidays! Hope that foot heals soon!

Leave a Reply

