The Brecon Beacons

What do you get a man who has everything for his birthday? (after all he has me!) This year I decided it was two nights in the Brecon Beacons. Not far to travel, beautiful countryside and Welsh Rarebit, whats not to love? We even managed to escape child free, not going to lie it was bliss!

It was our first experience of Airbnb and I must admit I was a little wary, but my fears were unfounded and it was perfect, check it out here . Although we have yet to be able to pronounce where it is located….Any ideas? What the Welsh have against vowels in beyond me!

On the way up we stopped off at Goytre and had a lovely walk along and around the canal, oh and a piece of cake obviously.

From there the next stop was Abergavenny, lunch and of course Welsh Rarebit.

We had a wander around using the map from the Tourist Information Office, explored the shops, the gardens and the Castle.

We were so lucky with the weather, warm and sunny perfect for the Autumn colours which I love.

Crickhowell was en-route to the village with no vowels so we popped in to see the bridge. A bridge that has 12 arches upstream and 13 downstream although to be fair I couldn’t count more than 8 either side!

Day two was spent walking, four miles before lunch five after. Not the relaxing birthday hubby had in mind but I think he enjoyed it! The morning walk was from the Airbnb which was great just to be able to step out and get walking. The mist was down, but it was warm and dry, but not so under foot, seems it might have been wet in Wales of late.

Incredible views

The afternoons walk was entitled Four Falls Walk and was a little drive away. It was treacherous underfoot at times with tree roots, mud, stones, stairs, rocks, moss and damp wooden slats. Both of us managed to stay upright but there was some close moments with squeals or swearing.

Obviously there were some waterfalls to visit.

It was a beautiful walk, helped by the sun coming out when we started out. I loved every minute of it.  You could walk behind the last waterfall, when I saw this I was so excited. I have never done this and as I had my raincoat with me, I was good to go. What an experience that was, helped by the fact that I was the only one under there. What a way to end a great day.

We loved the Brecon Beacons and will certainly return, I understand there are more waterfalls I can get up close and personal to.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Brecon Beacons

  1. CJ says:

    Looks blissfully perfect!

  2. irunoffroad says:

    Looks amazing, I really need to get there some day. Great read 🙂

  3. That looks gorgeous Shaz and sounds like a wonderful Birthday Break. True… what do you get for the man how already has the perfect gift??? hehe

Leave a Reply

