Mimi Anderson

For those of you asking who is Mimi Anderson?

Well……………

Mimi is currently running across America, starting in LA and finishing in New York. This is 2,850 miles and she is trying to break a world record that has stood since 1979 and finish in 53 days. Currently she has completed approximately 800 miles and I do hope she is not thinking ‘oh great only 2000 to go’!

Mimi and I have many things in common, but the desire to run across America is not one of them!

We are English, we both started running in our late 30’s, we are around the same age (she is a little older) and we both like a challenge although mine is on the more sensible end of the scale!

The word Inspiration is used too often I think these days, but she truly is inspiring. I am following her on every social media outlet possible, Instagram, facebook, her website. I watch the live feeds cheering her on, my mouth open in astonishment as she looks so good running 60 miles day after day, sometimes in 30 degrees!

I am also reading her book, which follows her run from John O’Groats to Lands End and also covers her other adventures the first of which was the completion of the Marathon Des Sables. Now it is dangerous for me to read of such adventures, I begin to think that they sound like something I’d like to do. The Marathon Des Sables is 150 miles across the Sahara, the conditions sound quite horrendous, but still there was a flicker of interest deep within me, but its ok family this was all laid to rest when I found out the entry fee is over £4000! Flicker well and truly extinguished!

I do like the sound of John O’Groats to Lands End though!

You will find Mimi here on her blog although she is not blogging at the moment, too busy running. This is her facebook and her Instagram,  her web site and her book on amazon go check her out and be prepared to be inspired and amazed. An ordinary person doing an extraordinary thing.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Bloggers, cross country, Running, travel, ultra running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mimi Anderson

  1. cassydotdot says:

    £4000! Wow! And here I am moaning about the GNR entry fee. Wow.
    Also, 60 miles a day is mind blowing to me, well done to her! Thanks for writing this. I’d not have know about her. *off to google Mimi Anderson*

Leave a Reply

