Ultra Sandwich

I am not sure it is ideal to sandwich a 50k run with two other events, but that is what I did. The Charmouth Challenge the Saturday before and the Haytor Heller the Saturday after.

Haytor is ‘a granite tor on the eastern edge of Dartmoor in the English county of Devon’. The Haytor Heller starts quite close to this lump of granite. I was very pleased that we weren’t having to run from the road up to the Tor.

The flags show the start line. No need to warm up, just walk to the start. The short hill made up for it in steepness and despite my determination to run up from the start, my legsΒ began to buckle as I neared the rock, a very brief stop to walk and then I was off again. If I had eyes in the back of my head would have seen this view.

The run its self is 6 miles up and down and up and down and then more up and down across the Moor. Truly a stunning location with breathtaking scenery and hills. My feet still sore from the Ultra struggled with the rocky paths. The bracken was taller than me and I was terrified I wouldn’t make it out fearing I tried desperately to keep the person ahead of me in sight. This is me walking ssshhhh

having just made it up a hill and out of the ferns. Behind me is Haytor the start and where I needed to get back to! A tough run but I loved it!.

The finish line was thankfully down hill and the medal was another beaut to add to my collection.

Definitely going to do this one again!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running, trail running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ultra Sandwich

  1. Nice job !

    I’m new to ultra running, but when I read you “ssssshh this is me waking,” comment – it reminded me of my recent article along the same lines:

    https://wordpress.com/post/suzlearnsfrench.blog/517

    Suz

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Loving the pink cap!!!! I need! πŸ’–πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»
    Well done ShazMataz!!!! On a roll!!!!
    Hey walking is my middle name… (ho ho I have to spell ‘ulta’ let alone attempt one πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    You go Shaz!!!

  3. runtezza says:

    Looks magical — welll done!

  4. mawil1 says:

    Stunning scenery! Glad you enjoyed it- for me I think that it would be a lovely walk😊

  5. Go Shaz! The scenery looks so beautiful and the hills rather hilly!

Leave a Reply

