Operation MFYOC Kicked off

I’m not a lover of acronyms, working in education I find they are overused, probably due to the shortage of time people have due to an extensive curriculum and assessment strategies, but that’s a discussion for another time not the day before a General Election. Anyway I find it hard to work them out and am forever asking their meaning. I find some acronyms have different meanings depending on context, when I stocked shelves at Sainsbury’s the abbreviation BWS stood for Beer Wines and Spirits, strangely enough within education this has a totally different meaning, but it might well be a good idea to use the Supermarket one.

You might notice an acronym in todays blog title, is it driving you mad yet trying to work it out? Wait for it……

2017 has seen me run almost 700 miles so far, but I have done absolutely no speedwork. (sorry I haven’t done any speedwork) No fartleks, no tempo sessions, no sprint 200m recover 200m. Lots of miles logged, but all slow. The unsurprising outcome from this is – I’m slower than I’d like to be.

So Move Faster You Old Cow was born. My new training plan. This was reinforced at Killerton parkrun this past week when marshal number 4 shouted just those words at me! Not really part of parkrun ethos is it, but it is ok as this particular marshal was just throwing the words back at me that, that I had messaged her in the week. I’m just hoping no one else thought it was directed at them! The greeting didn’t make me faster though but did make me laugh.

So last night I kicked off MFYOC by trying out a city run 5k in Exeter. This is a series of 6 5k’s held on a ‘A great traffic free and pancake flat run on footpaths and cycle tracks’, I am late to this party as this was the third round. The weather all day had been pretty bad but thankfully eased in time for me to register and run. As I limbered up (I use the term loosely!) I was very aware that the area was overrun with runners in club vests. Now I have a club vest specially created for VLM last year, but I had not even thought about wearing it, I was beginning to regret opting for my Little Miss Naughty vest, not exactly the look of a serious runner and believe me everyone else was a serious runner. Gulp. The start was adjacent to where I had parked, I was tempted to bolt but instead womaned up (or old cowed up) and joined the back of the select 100 runners!

The course is two laps, and yes pretty much pancake flat except for four ramps

not going to ever get much flatter than that in Devon!

Mile one, went ok, Mile two a slight deterioration, Mile three someone jumped on my back, my legs buckled under the extra weight and I slowed by 17 seconds. At the finish line I hurt. But on the upside I was two seconds off my Exeter parkrun (which has a similar elevation) PB, so not a bad start to MFYOC. Now to work out how to avoid picking up a passenger on that last mile.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running, Training for an Ultra and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Operation MFYOC Kicked off

  1. Marshall 4 sounds like a cheeky young cow if you ask me! 😂

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    HAaaa ha haaa ha aaaa haaaaa!!!! oh you made my day! that is so funny!!!! ONE thing though… you need to add a ‘B’ into that acronym!!!
    It should read MFYBOC!!!!
    ‘B’ as in… BOSSY!
    🙂 🙂 🙂
    MoveFasterYouBossyOldCow!

  3. MFYBOC! LOL
    Tbh, IHAT* btw

    (*I hate abbreviations too)

  4. Rachel says:

    Ha! Definitely an acronym to get you moving! 😀
    I haven’t done any speedwork this year either so I think it’s about time I work on it too 😛

    Rachel | Coffee & Avocados

  5. mawil1 says:

    😂🤣😂🤣😂I can never work acronyms out, and often in trying to remember them I get the letters in the wrong order! so thank you for explaining! Love it though!🐮🐮😂

  6. Love it Shaz. Ineed the MFYOC plan!

Leave a Reply

