Umborne Ug Second Edition

Umborne is a little village in East Devon located deep within one of the many mountain ranges we have here.

In June 2014 I did my first Unborne Ug, you can read about that here, last night I did my second Umborne Ug and you can read about it below!

Running is like child birth, with the passing of time you forget how tough something was and you sign up again. Unfortunately as I document things here it is easy for me to be reminded. I read the first Edition and gulped, all I remembered was that it was hilly, and contained cider I forgot it was muddy and contained a hill that was easier to crawl up.

Being a very local run it was well supported by the running club, it soon became evident that I would be the official club sweeper! The weather had been mixed in the afternoon, but the sun came out for the duration of the run, it really was a lovely evening. Official team photo was taken and then we were off.

The first part is up hill on the road and then more hill across the fields, then more hill up to the woods, then it flattens but gets muddy through the woods, then its mountain number one! Walking the only option. Then there is the most glorious down hill across the fields with simply incredible views, time for me to make up some time.

As I trekked up the last hill, I took solace in the fact that this was the last tough one and things would get easier, the down came but it was rocky and leafy and it was tricky to work out what was what and where to put your foot. With my ability to fall easily on a flat surface I ran this part scared witless with the mantra ‘stay up right shaz’. Very pleased to get to the bottom in one piece and the ankles not complaining too much. I could see a club member just in front of me and did my level best to catch him but alas he finished 10 seconds ahead of me, but least my role as club sweeper was full filled.

The main aim was to get a better time, happy to report that I knocked 4 minutes and 8 seconds off my 2014 time. And the Achilles issue that plagued by run this week had disappeared.

A PB, a nice evening, cake, BBQ and another shoe bag – cant get much better than that can it?

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in cross country, Devon, trail running, Training for an Ultra and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Umborne Ug Second Edition

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    🀜🏻πŸ’₯πŸ€›πŸ» reeeeeeZULT!!!!!

  2. mawil1 says:

    What can I say? I had an epidural!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I’m just a softie😊 But good for you shazza!

  3. Janice says:

    Ha ha!! I remember the 2014 Ug – it was one of Mark’s first 10k runs – he was in a terrible state at the end – so drained!! Oliver and I just ate and drank for the time he was out running, so all was not lost…. well done on coming back for another go – so brave! x

  4. 100km ultra backed up with this? Oh my gosh Shaz, you are rocking it!!! Very well done the PB too. Wow! xxx

Leave a Reply

