Ultra Aftermath

Well as it happens, the aftermath is not pleasant at all. In fact it was positively UGLY

Firstly there was the vomiting. Fortunately I gave hubby warning and he managed to pull over while I retched out the car door. This is a first for me, as a child I famously puked in to one of mother’s rain hats as this was the only thing she had to hand with last minute notice, but if truth be told it was the best thing to happen to it! I was thankful I did not disgrace myself in the car but I would imagine not as grateful as hubby.

Then there was the desire to eat nothing at all, not helped my the acidic paint stripping puke that seem to have left me with the feeling that I had burnt the whole of my mouth with mozzarella cheese. Even eat nice soft chips hurt.

I went to bed as soon as I could because I really did not know what to do with myself. In bed I laid side ways, front ways, back ways, left ways, right ways and diagonally absolutely no position was comfy, basically I hurt. My knees ached with every part of my being.

My septum currently looks like I am a heavy cocaine user (incidentally I’m not), 16 hours of wiping it actually has not done it any favours at all. So sore.

DOMS, now I was expecting them to visit, but oh my this time they were something else. Sunday morning I stayed in bed till 9 am, too scared to get up, terrified the stairs would do for me. The family were sympathetic of course with hubby offering to find me a part in the next Zombie movie and to fetch me a zimmer frame home from work. Madam well she just copied my leg dragging lurch. Oh yes feeling the love.

Sunday, Monday, Tuesday I was awful, in fact I was never going to run again, ever. Wednesday I climbed out of bed and positively pirouetted down the corridor. The DOMS had packed their bag and left. Hooray.

Maybe I can do that 100 miler after all!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running, ultra running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ultra Aftermath

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    OMF! *swat* should come to Porto with me!!!!!!
    I can’t imagine… you are either mad, weird or frikken brave.., seriously can’t make up my mind… saying that.,, I am SO PROUD of you Sharon x you are and amazing woman with guts and grit to inspire!
    You just do it ShazPops!

  2. mawil1 says:

    Omg sounds awful! I thought you might be a little bit stiff but vomiting? Just when you have carte Blanche to eat whatever you like? Nightmare!!! Surely there must be a teensy weensy little bit of pride in your achievement to off set these nasty side effects? Shaz if I was you I’m sure that I’d still be basking in the glory!!!😆😆

  3. Oh dear sounds nasty! Glad you’re recoveringx

  4. So glad you confirmed that you are not a heavy cocaïne user. Lol so amazed by your accomplishment. Amazing!

  5. Carol says:

    You are an actual inspiration! I was thinking about you today, as I struggled up (and down) the hills of east Devon – ‘Sharon ran 61 miles of this so I blimmin well ought to be able to haul myself around a measley 13’… and then there you were! Hence the sweaty-stranger-hug… sorry ’bout that!

    • shazruns says:

      Thanks Carol. I was studying your shirt thinking I’m sure that’s a VLM one and was pleased to hear it was you in it! PS I covered 61 miles-running would be an exaggeration! Well done to you for today x sweaty hugs always welcome!

Leave a Reply

