Ultra Eve

Tomorrow is Ultra day!!!!!!!!!!!!

So as you can imagine things are in a turmoil here. I swing from ‘can’t wait’ to ‘OMG what have I done’, seriously having more mood swings than a teenager and I should know as I live with one, who can be all 7 dwarves in an hour!

With one thing or another training has not been as I intended but right now I am working on the theory that it would be tough even if I had made every training run, and seeing as its not a race I shall be taking it easy, snapping pics and eating copious amounts of peanut butter and cake en route but maybe not together.

My main concerns are

  • The two am start!
  • Running with the back marker and needing a comfort break
  • Falling over
  • Carrying everything-the mandatory kit is heavy, to say nothing of the food
  • How much will it hurt!

Hubby and Madam are meeting me at half way point so I can change and stock up on some food and then will meet me at points along the way from there, which will be nice and something to aim for and look forward to. Then yesterday a new club member has offered to run some of the distance with me which is so nice and I shall welcome the company. Just hope I am on my best behaviour!

So this is the route map

keeping the sea on the left and following the coastal path Weymouth to Exmouth, doesn’t like that far on the map does it?

Really looking forward to it, a new adventure, I’ve not run any of the first half and only walked a little bit of it so lots of new scenery to see and am hoping for a cracking sunrise.

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running, Devon, Training for an Ultra and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ultra Eve

  1. Enjoy yourself out there!

  2. Wow!! Can’t wait to read how it goes! Good luck!

  3. Go Shaz, go! Rock it!

  4. Terryosul says:

    Go Shaz! Take it easy and have fun. Sounds an amazing adventure and thanks for sharing it.
    👍

  5. Lesley Batterham says:

    Good luck and enjoy xx

  6. Go Shaz!!! You can do it!!!

  7. CeeJayKay says:

    OH MY GOD!!!!! It’s this weekend!!!!! Sharon!!!! You just go do what you do well… watch your step…. do NIT FALL and enjoy! Can’t wait to hear the news!!!!
    Best of luck my darling xxx give it horns!!!!!

  8. mawil1 says:

    Good luck Shazza! It looks a massive long way on that map, don’t kid yourself!! But the sunrise will be glorious! Enjoy😘😁😁

Leave a Reply

