Coming up…….. The Hartland Hartbreaker

This Sunday I shall do the 18 mile long Hartland Hartbreaker in North Devon. The pre event email popped in to my inbox this week, reading it caused some mixed reactions.

Good

  • The race is technical, long, muddy, hilly, rocky, exposed, difficult
  • We will take all precautions to ensure you are safe
  • There are beer, prosecco and cocktail stops
  • We will not be providing any cups at water stations
  • All gels, bars and food etc must be marked with your number – numbers will be posted on our FB page in the next few days. You will not be allowed in the start pen without your items being labelled. Any dropped litter will result in disqualification.

Bad

  • You will need to pay for parking at the Abbey – it is £5.00 per car.
  • The race is technical, long, muddy, hilly, rocky, exposed, difficult
  • There are multiple dangerous parts that require a level head and level feet. (Errrr)
  • You do this race at your own risk
  • You will get lost and go the wrong way, If you’re really annoyed about it, come find me, I’ll buy you a wine or a beer and smile politely for about 30 seconds. If you’re still annoyed after that, take up chess.
  • If you decide you want to over take someone on a very narrow cliff edge path, no amount of warnings from me will stop you – but there’s a chance you’ll die so I thoroughly recommend that you be cautious.

Safe to say I am slightly apprehensive, not helped by the weather forecast!

It could be an interesting day!

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in cross country, Devon, Running, Training for an Ultra and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming up…….. The Hartland Hartbreaker

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Haaaa havhaaaa haaaa haaaa! A race with a sense of humour CANNOT BE A DNS!!!!
    Go and enjoy it at YOUR pace!!!! WISH I could come and cheer you on, sounds like it’s going to be AWESOME!!!!
    Go Shazpops!!!!!

Leave a Reply

