Shall I, shan’t I

With the slightly hugely disastrous Ex to Axe my thoughts have turned to the Jurassic 100k which is far too near for my liking. The internal arguments started about whether I should partake or not of this little adventure.

I consulted hubby. Not that I would listen to his advice to be honest but thought I would get some feedback. Surprisingly his answer was to see how things go. There is no life insurance policy so I don’t think he is trying to kill me off, maybe he just wants shot of me for the day!

So despite my instinct to sell my place and run for the hills elsewhere, I have decided for once to do as hubby suggest and ‘wait and see’, plenty of time to change my mind.

With Cardiff break over it was time to turn my attention to some miles and with the nice weather there was no excuse.

Friday I set off for a long run, time to experiment with fueling. I had a gel after an hour, mini cheddars after 2, a diet coke and a piece of cake after 3. The gel was nice (new one for me, raspberry flavour), mini cheddars were consumed, sat admiring my surroundings the stomach coped well with these and the legs did not object to the sit and then run. The cake was delicious but probably not such a good idea! (Thank you to the nice young man who must have seen the expression on my face when he said £5.20 and I only had £5, he let me off the 20p) So you live and learn. Not a bad run, easy to enjoy with these surroundings!

 

Cake-Delicious, but NO

Friday, I added up the weekly mileage, Sunday to Friday, (so including the Ex to Axe), it came to 51. Not bad.

The hubby asked if I was doing parkrun. I hadn’t planned to, but in the end did a parkrun sandwich 3miles before, parkrun, then three miles after. 60 miles in the bag for the week!

Sunday I did very little, when I did move it was slowly!

The plan now is to increase the weekly mileage over the next 4 weeks, experiment with fueling and to avoid cake (but only during a run)

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Photography, Running, Training for an Ultra and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shall I, shan’t I

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    good girl! relax, a deep breath, a good stretch, a couple runs, a Koppaberg or two and see what happens x

  2. zoeforman says:

    Only you will know your body & mind
    But worth giving it a go 😁

  3. Pingback: and then magic happens… | CeeJayKayFit

  4. I concur with Hubby. As for fuelling, the talk in this household is that what we eat the week before the big run is just as important as the fuel on the run. Pauly has a 60km event in 4.5 weeks and we’re experimenting with a low-ish fibre diet to try and avoid the ‘stops’ on the run. He has never managed a big run without a ‘stop’. All the best Shaz x

    • shazruns says:

      It’s so hard to know what to eat. You need whole meal as it’s longer lasting and good for you but the fibre is a problem. Besides shock I don’t like white bread it’s so bland. My training runs have frequent stops, fortunately during events I’m better!

Leave a Reply

