Chi Running

2017 is going to be a tough one, running wise and because of this I have decided to try and ensure I get to the end of the year in one piece by doing a few things differently. I am foam rolling more, stretching more, doing strength exercises three times a week and today went to learn how to run properly!

Now running consists of putting one foot in front of the other in a quicker pace than walking, this I know and this I do, but I wanted to run more effectively, more economically and in way to ward of injury, hence signing up for a Chi Running workshop at Exeter University today run by Blue Sky Running.

Chi – pronounced like Tai Chi not Ch-eye (like I was doing) is a revolutionary approach to effortless injury free running according to the front cover of the book I read the first 32 pages of!.

Now I could go in depth about what was covered on the course but the trouble with this would be A) I would get it wrong B) It would take me too long to write C) Would be an unexciting read and after my last post about bunions I don’t wish to loose any more readers! More importantly I think if you want to know about it, you should  go and book yourself on a course you wont be disappointed. Or you could buy the book, but it is lacking in plot and suspense!

Our day consisted of an introduction to the fundamentals, then we were all filmed running (aahhhh), then we moved on to some practical work using our core and correct posture and movement, lunch, watching of said videos examining our form and looking how it needed to improve and finally putting all we learnt in to action.

Being filmed was daunting, but actually invaluable, (so painful to watch) and we could all see where the adjustments needed to be made. Putting this all in to place at the end of the day certainly showed us how ‘effortless’ running should feel.

Now all I need to do is remember all that was covered and to put it in place a little at a time. Fortunately Hannah sent us home with some notes, failing that I may pick the book up again and try and read past page 32!

It was a great day, I’ve learnt so much and cant wait to try and put it in place. So if like me this has been on your radar for a while, don’t delay sign up now, check out where your local expert is by clicking here

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running, Training for an Ultra and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chi Running

  1. zoeforman says:

    Interesting – look forward to reading of your progress

  2. I’ve read about Chi running, sounds wonderful. All the best with it Shaz, it can only do good things I’m sure. I admire your dedication and I know it will pay off with exhilarating moments of finish-line crossing for those ultras!

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    *lol* chEYE!
    My sister took it up a few years ago, well, i say ‘took it up’ she converted… she has not looked back. She sent me the book and well, as i had just started out running, i tried it, so i didn’t have any habits to rework… i think i just do it naturally now… would be interesting to be filmed!!!!

    You will think it for ages while out running, then it just becomes natural…

    Once you’re aware of the technique you will look at the way EVERYONE around you runs *winks* ESPECIALLY the pros… HA HA and judge! *blush* yeah, well, I do #biteme
    But they just do it… effortlessly…

    Cant wait to hear how it goes and the progress reports!!!! enjoy!

  4. mawil1 says:

    Oooh how interesting! Im looking forwards to hearing how it works out for you. Too complicated for me I think – I will end up tripping over my own feet😆😆 but I may look at the book😊

Leave a Reply

