Now for something different

This post contains, whingeing, moaning, possibly swearing and general venting, please feel free to tune out NOW, normal service will be resumed as soon as possible.

I am the proud owner of a bunion, ok this might be an exaggeration (the proud bit) but a large bunion I possess on my right foot. I don’t and never have worn stilettoes, I wore ugly Clarke shoes till I was 16 years old so its not down to poor footware. The reason I’ve got this attachment to my foot is genetics -thanks Mum, not helped by wide feet.

Despite my Doctor in Essex wanting to remove it I have always stated I would not go under the knife until it started to hurt. Unfortunately that time might have come.

Since Christmas its started to hurt. It took me a while to work out what the pain was as it seems to manifest itself further down by the big toe, firstly I thought it was some kind of nail infection. Then I worked out what was causing the issue, the bunion. Running is uncomfortable, but not too bad, running down hill is worse, up is fine.

I realised that going to the Doctors would mean a referral to surgery and with three Ultras booked this year, that is not going to happen. A hastily made podiatrist appointment was obtained.

Today was appointment day. I really wish I hadn’t bothered.

It was a total waste of time.

She seemed to fixate herself with the boots that I had worn to the appointment. Now I normally would have popped trainers on, but as it had been pouring all day I opted for boots. She decided that these are too small for me and that was the problem. Now I wore these boots most of the three days in New York where we walked continually, all was fine then. Now they hurt yes, but all shoes hurt, socks, bare feet all is well with the world, put shoes on and I’m in trouble.  She told me I had feet of a much older person (thanks!) and nothing could be done. I needed to buy bigger shoes, end of.

Now I can understand what she is saying and take this on board, BUT it is unrealistic to ask me to replace all my shoes and trainers with new bigger ones, especially when a month ago they were fine. She mentioned biomechanic issues but could not help me with those!

Now before I went I had done a bit of research on what can be done. Take NSAIDS, use ibuprofen gel, ice the area, get in soles, use spacers and there are some really nifty bunion socks available on the web to relieve pressure and swelling. Not once did she mention any one of these to help, nope, change your shoes and that’s it, oh and £35 payment please! I did not make a scene but must admit it came close, toys thrown around the pram but not out. Safe to say I will not be going back.

All in all, very fed up and now supping a very large amaretto!

The way forward?

Ice, painkillers, look in to bunion padding, new insoles, new trainers (any excuse – got to cheer myself up) physio, but no not surgery till Christmas and no I’m not going to accept this is the way it is going to be from now on.

Thanks for listening. X

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running, Training for an Ultra and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Now for something different

  1. zoeforman says:

    Hope you get the bunion sorted one way or another – I’m with you that surgery is last resort

    • shazruns says:

      God yes, but I need an in between surgery and this is the way it is put up with it route, I might just be spending the weekend on google and half term in running shops! Oh and my wages on physio!

  2. Oh sh… I’ve got one on the left foot … I suspect this caused my blisters and that led to my whole foot feeling broken …
    It feels better if I run on soft surfaces and has been better for the past 2 weeks. If you figure something out let me know!

  3. Oh great big hugs and a cup of tea for you from me x I have biomechanical issues too thanks to joint-less big toes. Can you go see a podiatrist and see if they have any pointers? I low-dye tape my feet sometimes and it does help xxx hugs xxx

  4. I’m currently recovering from bunion surgery and it’s the worst. Hopefully you’re not in too much pain!

Leave a Reply

