The Tale of Two Doyntons

Last January I completed my first Cross Country half marathon, I did this at the inaugural Doynton Hard Half Marathon (in case you missed that exciting blog you can catch up with it here) This year I was contacted by the organisers and invited back – it happens to all top athletes you know! I was planning on signing up but as ever was sitting on the fence. As I headed north on the M5 I watched the temperature drop, along with my bottom lip-I don’t like the cold.

Now if I was clever there would be a nice little Venn diagram here comparing the 1st and 2nd event, I’m not so here is a chart instead, squint a bit and use some imagination and the info might populate three circles

chart

Not going to lie, I found this tougher than I remembered, the legs had decided they would have preferred to stay in the warm, but I will certainly enter again next year, first I need to forget about those hills!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in half marathon, Running, trail running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Tale of Two Doyntons

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    faaaaaaaaaBUlouS time ShazPopsBossChick!!!! Well done!!! Man up *winks* i am the only one allowed to complain about the cold with this CapeTown blood still in my veins!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    PS… LOVE the little chart! 🙂

  3. Go Shaz!!! Sounds really tough. I remember the photo gallery from last year and can only imagine the crusty mud. What a great idea to have the names of the marshals on signs. I hope that catches on.

Leave a Reply

