Darn (or insert your own expletive here) pebbles

New Years Eve I did Seaton parkrun without my Garmin and was thrilled to bag a PB and a fairly ‘good for Shaz’ time.

A week later I went back full of confidence, had what I thought was a good run only to get to the end 20 seconds over. Grrrr. To make matters worse the woman just a head of me was in my age group. Double Grr. Not to worry someone said there is always next week

Fast forward to next week-today. Minus three as I set off from home. On arrival rumours was flying in regard to a change of course. The Run Director confirmed this at the pre run meeting, an extra 400 metres at the end – ON THE PEBBLES and drug testing for those that obtained a PB. There goes my PB this week then.

Operation ‘hang in there and get to the end’ was put in to place. I did and I did, gaining a first old lady position and ended with legs like jelly, like I’d been on a boat for months.

Last weeks finish

Last weeks finish

This weeks finish

This weeks finish

 

 

 

 

 

Lets hope for warmer weather next week

On the upside it was a lovely bright, sunny morning and I was first old lady! There is always next week for that PB.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

