Fordh Sen Mighal

Saturday morning, not for the first time, I questioned my sanity. A 5:30 wake up, a 2.5 hour drive and this weather forecast brought on this questioning

img_2047 this deep thought process occurred as I sat in my car in Cornwall waiting for a lift to the start of an 11 mile run across the county, north coast to south coast.

This run had been on my radar for a while and it was always going to be a big ask, due to the following logistics

  • Cornwall is a long way from anywhere even Devon
  • It was the night after the club Christmas party
  • Taking a Saturday out in December away from shopping, baking, wrapping and all things Christmassy
  • It was a North to South route with no transport to start or finish laid on

I tried not to over think things and just signed up and worked out the boring stuff after, reasoning that

  • Cornwall is a long way but I’ve never done an event there before so time to do my first and its never going to get nearer is it?
  • I could leave the party right after dessert, which I did but actually not sure profiteroles in Bailey sauce are great pre race fuel, but was in bed for 10:30 p.m. The added bonus to this was I missed a club member trying on his Mankini that he received from Secret Santa, somethings are not meant to be seen, this is one of those things. Lucky escape
  • After a plea on the event’s web site for a lift a lovely runner came forward and offered me a lift to the start. Its true, runners are fab

The run was from Lelant to Marazion, following St Michaels Way. Finishing at St Michaels Mount one of my favourite Cornwall places.

After registering and getting my number it soon became a game of how many runners can you get in the pub, whilst we all sought refuge from the rain, no one wanted to venture out in it.

fullsizerender

Fortunately at 9:45 am the rain had eased as we made our way to the start, right next to Lelant station. The first three miles kept to the coastal path and the rain was not too bad as we covered the undulations, before heading inland.

Carbis Bay

Carbis Bay

This year I bought a new waterproof running jacket, I was keen to try it out, but soon took it off, the temperature was warm and I was beginning to resemble a ‘roast in the bag chicken’. Then the rain started to come heavier and once your wet there is no point putting it back on is there? I still have no idea if it is waterproof.

This is me

capturesoggy Shaz.

It was a great route, very varied in terrain and am sure the views are stunning on a nice day. These photos was taken 600 ft up but no view,

at the top I was met by a marshal, who told me the next section was ‘technical’. I had no idea what that meant, now however I can impart my knowledge to you dear reader and tell you it means ‘suicidal down hill, with rocks to negotiate’ now you know.  Should someone say this to you on a trail run I would recommend finding an alternative path. I love my trail trainers, but they don’t stick to rocks very well. In fact if anyone is reading this and knows of trainers that stick to rocks like Velcro, then please let me know I am in the market for a pair. I watched in awe as a runner trotted down the hill, jumping and leaping off the rocks whilst I tip toed not so nimbly between them with my heart in my throat, praying that I would a) not fall b) not break anything.

Just when I thought the conditions could not get worse, the wind picked up and the rain got worse. My t-shirt was so wet it stuck to me, in a very non attractive, show off my spare tyres kind of way not in a night club wet shirt competition kind of way. We headed in to Marazion before being directed back along the coast path to the finish. The wind was fierce on this stretch, blowing the rain in off the sea, this must be what it is like running in to a pressure washer, trust me its not fun, don’t try it. My face at the end was sore from the pelting rain.

img_2050

Pleased to get to the end, 15 minutes before my predicted time, in one piece having kept upright and not got lost at all, and to finish 9th lady out of 55. But even more pleased to get in to dry clothes.

That was truly an adventure and worth the drive and the early start.

Love this medal, Cornish flag and St Michaels Mount

Love this medal, Cornish flag and St Michaels Mount

Great new event, well run and as for those marshals, amazing stuff to be stood out in those conditions for hours on end, they had the toughest part for sure.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in cross country, Running, trail running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fordh Sen Mighal

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Gosh Shazpops! That sounds crazy and exciting!!!! Looks totally dizzzzMAL!!!!
    You are sma-ASHing your events!!!! So proud!!!! Well done! 😘😘😘

  2. Wow. Shaz. Commitmentz!

    Well… You should be committed, anyway. Kudos.

  3. runtezza says:

    Brava! Great post too. Pretty radical alternative to Christmas prep — well done 👍

  4. Congratulations! 9th is amazing. As for shoes on rocks, I like my Merrel Pace Gloves and Inov8 trailrocs. Not velcro, but pretty sticky still.

  5. oscardiamond says:

    Great run! Poorest weather makes for the biggest and most memorable achievement.

  6. That looks so good but so tough and so wet! Well done Shaz!!! I love the medal too. Profiteroles and running do not usually go together. The one and only time I had to visit a portaloo on a run was the night after a niece’s wedding where I had a few of those. Ugh. That run looks so tempting…wish I was closer!

  7. Rebecca says:

    The weather looks like it could have been better but it looks like a pretty run in terms of scenery.

Leave a Reply

