Fred

A couple of weeks ago we welcomed a new member in to the Shazruns household, may I present to you the treadmill…………….

img_1889

Fred!

Now I am not a huge fan of these machines of torture but the chance to get this one at a good price throughΒ a running friend came up and was hard to resist.

Our first problem was getting it in the front door, in fact we had to pretty much take it all apart and put back together again once inside and boy is it heavy!

The next issue was where was it going to live? We opted for the conservatory (also our dinning room) which will make eating Christmas dinner interesting but on the upside we can eat and the wear off the dinner right away or alternatively it could be used as a conveyor belt to get food to guests! Luckily it does fold but sadly still pretty bulky even when this is done, who knew they were so big?

Now I have had had the chance to get fairly well acquainted with Fred but very quickly and not very surprisingly soon discovered that yes treadmill running is as dull as I remember so I cannot see myself spending more than half an hour on it. How people train for marathons on them I have no idea.

What I have found is that the in built interval sessions are brilliant, they last 30 minutes and that time flies when using them and some are quite challenging. Fortunately the conservatory is cold but even with the door open I sweat buckets so must be working hard. It wont replace my miles outside but am hoping it helps me with my speed, but only time will tell.

Never thought I would buy a treadmill, but think Fred and I might become friends, not best buddies, just friends.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fred

  1. That looks like a nice treadmill! Congrats!

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Loving Fred… I miss Roger… so send Fred love from me!

  3. cassydotdot says:

    My friend has a treadmill. We used it for interval Running -which is awesome! I think they’re great, especially for winter months! I dread going outside in the frosty cold darkness of winter. Something that helped to. Real the monotony of treadmill running, was having the iPad stacked on top of it and watching something-anything!!! Wishing you many happy runs on Fred! πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ’ͺ🏻

    • shazruns says:

      Thanks! I have the radio on that helps but have yet to work out how to balance the iPad on the front, but it has crossed my mind! I might get some podcasts on my iPod!

  4. mawil1 says:

    Yay! If the alternative is not running due to weather, darkness, no babysitter etc then a treadmill is great.😊😊 I was going to say lovely to have a view outdoors, but I’m guessing if it was light outside you’d be outdoors anyway! So in the dark you’d just get the spooky view of yourself mirrored in the window. Some company on the run!! It’s going to be great for keeping up your fitness over winter😊

    • shazruns says:

      I pondered too on which direction I should face and in the end opted for towards the house I might turn it to look to the garden although not keen on watching my reflection run! I’m thinking Fred might be useful but learnt this week that running with slippers on is not a great idea, need to make the time to grab my trainers

      • mawil1 says:

        Running in slippers! Maybe you just don’t take Fred seriously? Thebenefit of being in the garage is that because it’s like being outside I do actually need to dress as if for a real run!

      • shazruns says:

        Slippers with tassels! Not my smartest move , promise to try and treat Fred with more respect!

      • mawil1 says:

        πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† my eyes just leaped to the word tassels and I was off giggling! But of course tassels on footwear are perfectly acceptable, I have some myself. But it’s a bit of a comedy routine isn’t it – words that make you squirm or giggle. I think that ‘moist towelettes’ us a popular one but tassel does it for me πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

      • shazruns says:

        Tassels on slippers not my shock absorber now that would be entertainment for hubby and neighbours!

      • mawil1 says:

        πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† I thought that it might be fun for a charity run! Could I get them to go in opposite directions? If the shock absorber really does reduce bounce by 80% would the tassels twirl at all? πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† I may need to make a trip to Ann summers so that I can put this to the test πŸ˜†πŸ˜† lol! I need to get out more !

      • shazruns says:

        πŸ˜ƒ that would make a great blog, please share once trip has been made!

      • mawil1 says:

        πŸ˜†πŸ˜† maybe a ‘Christmas special!πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

  5. sudebaker says:

    I have a Fred, too. Or maybe it’s a Ginger. Mine can adjust, but doesn’t go lower than a “1”. Great for the days when it’s raining small mammals outside πŸ™‚

  6. Welcome Fred! I hear you Shaz, I don’t know how marathon training can happen on those things. But it would be so good to have for those must do runs when shocking weather hits.

Leave a Reply

