Social Media is dangerous

FACT

Dangerous for my health, my feet, my washing machine and my bank balance.

I have spent sometime this afternoon going through my blog checking the ‘events’ I have completed this year. Now bare in mind, historically I would enter an event, train for it, complete it and then not enter anything else for a while. This year (and there are three months left) I have done the following

  • Oh My Obelisk-10 miles
  • Doynton Hard Half-13.1 miles
  • The Grizzly-18 ish miles
  • Ex to Axe-22 ish miles
  • VLM
  • Haldon Heartbeat 8.5 miles
  • Clumber Park Half Marathon-13.1 miles
  • Blackdown Beauty-19 miles
  • Ham to Lyme – 50k
  • Dartmoor 10k
  • Exmoor Half -13.1 miles
  • South West Coastal Path Challenge-19 miles

That’s a lot of miles, entry fees, mud, medals, t-shirts, sweat and a few tears.

All of them bar VLM were off road. 8 of them I had not done before and each of these I found out about via Facebook. See what I mean its dangerous this social media interaction.

This week I purchased a 2017 calendar, usually I buy one after Christmas when they go 50% off,(no not tight at all just frugal!) so this is very early for me. The calendar is a special one, not just because it has a cute Teddy Bear on the front, this calendar is for me to add runs happening next year! Need to be careful I don’t double book myself!

I might think about deleting my Facebook account!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, half marathon, London Marathon, Marathons, Running, trail running, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Social Media is dangerous

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    FaaahLIP! That’s a lot of miles!!!! You beast you!!!! And hey I’m coming to join you on at least one of those calendar dates!!!!
    Well done Shazpops!!! EPIC year for you! Xxx

    • shazruns says:

      Thanks. I couldn’t believe it till
      I started going though the blog. I must keep a better record of it. Hey yes come and join me next year, would be amazing. X

  2. mawil1 says:

    That’s a lot of running- a major event every 4 weeks! You have done more miles in events alone than I have done in training!!!!😆😆 I hope that you are proud of your considerable achievement!

    • shazruns says:

      Thanks. I enjoyed them all, seen some amazing sights, waded through miles of mud, met some lovely people, created some lovely memories, it’s been fun. I am pleased the body for the most part has held up!

  3. Good going Shaz! That is indeed some serious mileage. Doesn’t it make it even more annoying though when you read a story from someone that goes, “I never really ran before but my mate entered me for a marathon for a laugh and I did it in 3.5 hours… so I figured I could probably do under 3 with some actual training, and this year I managed 2:45 …yay!”

    Sorry …I don’t really know where that came from! :-/

  4. onthelamb says:

    wow! amazing running! But no races on my side of the pond, I see. Maybe the teddy bear calendar needs to include some of those?!?!

    • shazruns says:

      Oh believe me Paige I would love to. I have been looking at the Grizzly Ultra, which is in the Rockies in Canada! Not near you though. However madam has a desire to go to New York -so you never know!

  5. I hear you Shaz! I print off a calendar from publisher even before calendars are in print so that I can keep track of next years events. That is an impressive list of events and not to mention all the training that has gone into them. Here’s to a wonderful 2017 of running!

Leave a Reply

