Not sure what’s going on

I’ve reported my energy levels as missing, but despite many searches they are being elusive and hiding out somewhere. If you see them lurking behind a bush, please capture and return to me ASAP, they are needed for a 17.5 mile trot along the South Devon coast this Sunday, to say nothing of the GWR two weeks after!

I also need to work out why they have gone, not just where they have gone.

During the half marathon last weekend I gave this some thought as this was the day I first discovered their disappearance.   Granted the day before I did not fuel well, a Cornish Pasty followed by carrot cake at lunch meant I really was not wanting dinner that night.

Then there was the early start Friday to go to the land of the pasty. Followed by early start Saturday to get to the run.

Oh of course the driving might have something to do with it, 5 hours Friday in total then 1.5 to the half marathon. 

The culmination might have something to do with what I felt was a poor performance, the miles did not feel right at all.  

Sunday saw another early start and more driving and Monday I was back seeking Poldark in the West. Safe to say Monday night I was wiped and in bed very early. 

Five days after the run, I’ve run 7 fairly miserable miles, breathing issues and leaden legs. I am hoping for a miracle. Sunday’s run will be fantastic but hilly, not quite as bad as North Devon though- fingers crossed.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Not sure what’s going on

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    theres your answer… you need to feed the beast babes, treat her well and she will be there of you when you need her! Its hard, god knows i know, working full time, family, house, kids, self… you know what i am saying, it is EXACTLY what you would be telling me…
    You have two days now, relax, stretch, fuel and hydrate! You are ready for this, you are fit, strong and healthy… GO GET IT GIRL!

  2. hair1908 says:

    Are you eating enough protein? Since upping mine I run better and recover quicker. Protein shake straight after a run helps to

    • shazruns says:

      Thanks for that. The honest answer would be no, but will try and up it, not sure I like those recovery shakes though! Well done on the Isle of Wight run, looked tough.

      • hair1908 says:

        It was mental! I was popping protein in between helps the muscles recover. Maybe you’re also not testing enough ? Don’t be disheartened tho you are a machine!

  3. Gareth says:

    Raisins! Mix raisins into honey and bake into leeeetle bars. Consume. Run!

  4. hair1908 says:

    I make my own shakes btw , 1 scoop protein powder, usually vanilla mixed with 250 ml water or almond/coconut milk

  5. mawil1 says:

    Well this fairy godmother is going to wave her magic wand and grant you rest! Yes you need some food but you also need a good sleep😊 Try not to get up too early on Saturday and catch up on your zzzz’s. Everyone’s suffering a bit from adjusting to the dark mornings. Popping a bit of vitamin d or some cod liver oil wouldn’t go amiss!

    • shazruns says:

      Thanks I always wanted a fairy godmother ! X off to Holland and Barrett tomorrow, my list is getting longer! X

      • mawil1 says:

        Ps I tried the ‘menopace plus botanicals’ there’s a lot of vitamins in there, and sage and stuff, but it does seem to have helped with my sleep and energy😊

      • shazruns says:

        That’s a shame someone else recommend those menopause vitamins, shame when they don’t work, especially as they not cheap!

      • mawil1 says:

        I don’t know if it’s coincidence, placebo effect or maybe I was slightly vitamin b deficient on my low carb diet, but they seem to have helped me. Hopefully when you sniff the air on Sunday you will be raring to go!

      • shazruns says:

        Well the Suns set to shine so it should be beautiful anyway. Not worried how long it takes just don’t want it to feel so dam hard!

  6. I hope you find then Shaz! I have energy in abundance so I’ve just packed it up and sent it via the winds so you should have it ready for Sunday. Take care of yourself lovely Shaz, perhaps you need a chocolate infusion!

Leave a Reply

