Something Wild Dartmoor 10k

Three runs in two days makes for a tired Shaz.

Yesterday saw me back at Exeter parkrun, where I managed to get a PB! 30 seconds off my best time at this parkrun. It was nice to slay those demons left from last weeks run where I had the feeling that all speed in my legs had up and left for a vacation! It was a total shock having left my technology at home, I had no idea what the time was, all I knew was that I had gone all out.

Madam and I went out for my second run in the afternoon where we had trouble with a Labrador puppy who was gorgeous, but really wanted to join us rather than walk with his humans and Madam would have preferred to stop and play more with them.

Today was run three, this meant an early start to make the hour journey to Dartmoor for an off road 10k. I wasn’t going in to this run for a PB, or to ‘race’ which was just as well really as it was Tough (please note the deliberate capitalisation).  It wasn’t just Tough because of the elevation


Although that was a contributory factor, obviously! No it was Tough because of the rocky paths, bracken overgrown tracks, fields with marauding cows with calves, miles of trainer sucking bogs, oh and the stepping stones built for people with long legs and agility. In case you are wondering I have neither long legs or agile ones and the marshal’s words “no one has fallen in yet” did not help me at all. I was very glad to get safely to the other side, it seems miracles do occasionally occur! The scenery was amazing of course, when I would lift my head long enough to take it in!


Yes it was Tough and my legs were shot at the end, and my time was rubbish but I loved it. What’s not to love about a run where your trainers end up looking like this?


And of course, it’s always nice to get a new shirt


With some great words on a hi viz trainer matching colour and the wooden medal is a nice addition to my collection!


About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Photography, Running, trail running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Something Wild Dartmoor 10k

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    WOWZA!!!! Shazpops!!! You STAR!!!!! So stoked you loved it!!!! OMG your TRAINERS!!!!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I’d die I tell ya!!!! Saying that… I’m getting a little braver… but that’s cos I know one day I’m going to run with you so I’d better suck it up β€οΈπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    Well done pops X love the medal and TSHIRT!

  2. mawil1 says:

    Congratulations on your Parkrun PB! They say that long slow running helps with your fast runs too, so I’m guessing all your ultra miles must have helped! But 30s is a big improvement – I’m well impressed. Your trail run looked fun too! I like that kind of terrain, if not the hill climbs! I’m glad it wasn’t raining tho!😊

  3. Oooo…. Lovely!
    Congratulations on the parkrun PB and on what looks like a lovely Dartmoor run. Not the easiest terrain.

Leave a Reply

