New Balance Kit Review

I am luck enough to receive the New Balance Weekly email. This email tells me of new products and ranges New Balance have released and is sent out by Lizzie at Gungho. Yes I knew about the fresh foam trainers before my local Sweatshop, who looked perplexed when I mentioned them, oh its fab being ahead of the game!

Anyway each email contains the sentence ‘If you would like any further information, high-res imagery, or to enquire about sample availability, we’d love to hear from you – simply get in touch at TeamNB@gunghoco.com and we’ll be happy to help.’ Having been raised on ‘you ask you don’t get’ I have not contacted them since 2013 although with products such as these

Night Floral rangeandFresh foam 1080

it has been hard not to contact them EVERY week! But having fallen in love with the jacket I bit the bullet and asked if there was anything available and offered to pick up at The VLM Expo as I knew New Balance would have a very big stand there.

Lizzie got back to me right away asking for sizes, which I sent back. Sadly no trainers or the jacket of beauty was available although they did have a top and leggings if I was interested. I was raised on ‘don’t look a gift horse in the mouth’ so said ‘yes please!’ The next day these arrived

My initial reaction on opening the package was ‘I must let Lizzie know I am a 51-year-old woman this is kit for a youngster’ (this was proven when madam wore the top for tunning before I did!) The top is so darn cute and I have never worn patterned leggings before! They were on my old carcass in 30 seconds! I was struck with how comfy they were, how nice they felt and what good quality they were.

I have since worn both several times and here are my thoughts……………

Capri

As a Ron Hill Capri fan it has come as a complete shock to me that I love these, who knew there are other brands out there! They are very comfy and have great streeeeeeeetch, in fact I am sure I could gain 2 stone and they would still fit. I have worn them for running and for Metafitting, happy to report no chaffing, no falling down, no riding up. However although there is a pocket, it is one without a zip, that’s the only drawback I would say with these leggings. This means I can’t really wear them for parkrun as no safe place for my car key or barcode. This slight issue would not stop me buying another pair, the fit, stretch, feel and quality more than compensate for this

Top

Would I ever buy myself something like this for running? Nope! But I love it also. It has an in-built boulder holder which means no sports bra required. I was concerned about the ‘bounce’ but what little I have left does not seem to move too much, well least it didn’t whilst I jumped up and down in my bedroom in front of the mirror. The bottom of it is light, scalloped, flowing and full of holes

holesthis means that despite its colour it is cool to wear. The colour however would stop me from wearing it on the Devon lanes, so I will keep it for off-road runs and Metafit.

I would never have purchased myself these items, but certainly will try to think out of the box in future and would not hesitate in buying New Balance clothing and would recommend them as a brand, if you are in need of new kit.

Disclaimer:- I was sent these items to test and review. The opinions expressed in this post are my own.

I would like to dedicate this post to my legs who have carried me over 38  miles this weekend and over 60 for the second week in a row, thanks legs! X

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Running, Training for an Ultra and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Balance Kit Review

  1. I’m a NB fan too. Lovely kit.
    And I know what you mean about the temptation to respond every week!

    And although it’s unlikely I shall be purchasing the items you tested (they aren’t really my style) I appreciate that you thought the same thing before you tried them…so…hey…never say ‘never’, right?

  2. Oh my goodness Shaz! I was in one of my favourite running shops in Hobart on Friday and pulled out those exact same leggings! I’m not brave enough to wear all over patterns but those ones are black enough to be black with just enough pattern. Loved the review. I can’t wait for the Gold Coast Marathon expo and a chance to look at the new gear. But I’ll be looking out for those leggings! Running makes us young, I bet you look wonderful in this gear! Best be taking a photo for us!

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    OH EM GEE! i LOVE the jacket… but hen you know me i LOVE print! the funkier the better *lol*
    HOW keel, i remember you telling me about this at lunch the other day (we really need to do lunch again 🙂 )
    How lovely! love the legging! wow! and the top IS CUTE!!!!
    GREAT REVIEW!!!! i have NEVER thought about even looking at NB, mostly cos i am a proud ‘Nike girl’ but i DO LIKE this!!!!
    off to shop!

    uhoh! 🙂

  4. mawil1 says:

    Love those capris! I have some NB shorts which I love and a matching top. They have seen to have got more interesting over the last couple of years ( or maybe I never noticed before) and are better priced than some other brands! Congrats on your mileage, ultra woman!

    • shazruns says:

      Oh how I would love to wear shorts! In public interest it’s best I don’t!

      • mawil1 says:

        Definitely off road! And I run on my own😆😆😆 my son is always happy to tell me if he thinks my clothing is inappropriate!😆😆

      • shazruns says:

        Oh if I did that the RSPCA would be in touch for cruelty to farm animals! Youngest Madan vets my clothing for everyday! I get the “your not wearing that ” look before we go out!

      • mawil1 says:

        At least my son is only concerned with ‘decency’ I don’t have a daughter to ‘fashion police’ me too!

Leave a Reply

