Next

After VLM I needed a plan to keep me running. Having in my mind conquered the marathon distance and killed off a few demons in the proceeds I needed another challenge. The only thing that made sense was to run longer. So I have entered my first Ultra Marathon, this is now only a month away and could possibly be too close to running London, only time will tell.

This Ultra is a stepping stone to the ‘real thing’, in September I really want to run the 55 miles from Exeter along the coastal path to Babbacombe. However lets not go there yet, first lets see how the 31 miles off-road goes.

All this has meant that I am running LOADS and not blogging much! Oh and boy am I tired, ok no I am not tired I am ********* knackered! The difference between marathon training and Ultra training is, back to back long runs at the weekend. This has meant on average I am running 26 miles in total between Saturday and Sunday runs, with 2 more 9  mile runs during the week and a nice little 5 mile on a Wednesday, maybe you can see why I am tired!

Last Sunday after my time up North I decided not to run long, but to move the 4 hour scheduled run to Wednesday. This fitted in quite nicely with me dropping the car off to have a tow bar fitted and having 4 hours to kill. What else is a girl to do, except – run!

It was a simple plan. Run out 2 hours on the Estuary path, turn around and run back. The trouble with an out and back run though, is that if you are already tired once you get to the turn around point it is a very long way back. I arrived at Dawlish Warren 11 miles in and not quite at the 2 hour mark, but I knew another mile was just not doable. I turned around and headed back. Oh and what a struggle to get back. I even walked most of mile 18! Ridiculous when 6 weeks ago I ran 26 miles!

It was one of those runs where I could have gladly got home and thrown my trainers ALL of them in the bin!

But of course I haven’t, not yet!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running, Training for an Ultra and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Next

  1. Wow Sharon,
    Get you!

    Probably very wise to have turned back when you did. You know you’d have been gutted if you did too much and suffered injury.

    VERY impressed you’ve opted for an ultra. I can never see that happening here… But maybe that’s because I’ve still got my marathon demon to conquer first.

    Enjoy. If that’s possible. Yes…I’m sure it is.. Enjoy!

  2. mrssmmf says:

    Ultra training is so much more knacketingbthan marathon training isn’t it! Xx

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    Oh myyyyy! You are brave and THEN SOME! What an inspiration ShazPops… So proud of you!!! GO GIRL! This is a FAB year for you… You can do it and I’m positive you will always run and run and enjoy xxx

  4. runtezza says:

    Wow thanks for summoning the strength to blog about it — ultra sounds exciting! Good luck with the rest of the training…

  5. mawil1 says:

    Wow ! That’s a lot of weekly miles! Good luck to you and I hope you adjust to it soon and get into a nice routine of running and resting. If you really are too tired to sleep please take a break you really need the recovery time too😊

  6. Very Cool! You can do it. I hope you can get on top of that knackered feeling, that’s not nice. Those back to back long runs sound tough: tough to do and tough to fit into an already busy life. I’m be cheering!!!

  7. That’s some good mileage you’re putting in and it’s sure to pay off. The thing to remember with ultras is that walking is totally acceptable and even expected at some points (especially the uphills!) so getting some long walks in can be very useful in training if you need a day off running – it’s time on your feet that counts. 🙂
    Keep up the great work and I look forward to reading all about it. 🙂

  8. onthelamb says:

    Oh, you can do this!!!! Just keep up with your sleep!

  9. I don’t know how you kind the time!!?!

  10. Rebecca says:

    Wowzers no wonder you’re tired. Hope the training continues to go well

Leave a Reply

