Back to parkrun

I have neglected parkrun for a while, partly due to marathon training and also partly due to the fact that 150 parkruns is a long way to my 250th t-shirt!

Saturday saw my return to Killerton, all revved up and raring to go, so much so that I rocked out a stupidly fast time for the first mile and then DIED. The stupidly fast mile would have been faster still had it not been for stampeding cows wanting to cross our path causing all sensible runners to pile to an abrupt STOP. I shall try an adopt a pacing strategy to my next 5k, maybe then I will get a PB. This was however a pb for this year at Killerton, in fact this is what the top athletes call a seasons best, so obviously it was a season best though I was somewhat gutted to come third in my age! Amazed to be congratulated by a complete stranger on VLM, seems she had seen this on social media, now I am trying to work out where and who the connection is! Aren’t parkrunners lovely?!

Today saw me return to the long run. I wanted to see how the legs had recovered two weeks after VLM, here are some pics taken en route………

This guy was up early also and in town fishing

This guy was up early also and in town fishing

IMG_0321

This one is for Paige, we have areas of outstanding beauty here in East Devon also! This was on a signpost

This smelt amazing, wild garlic!

This smelt amazing, wild garlic!

Could not resist taking his photo, so cute, such a lovely colour.

Could not resist taking his photo, so cute, such a lovely colour.

I got the answer to how my legs have recovered and it seems not as well as I thought they should! 20 miles done, but boy they were tough.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in cross country, Devon, London Marathon, parkrun, Photography, Running, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back to parkrun

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Season best! WOW! Onwards and upwards to greater things ShazPops! You are on a roll!!!! Xxx

  2. I was say you could’ve joined me……but our definitions of ‘long run’ are somewhat different!!

    • shazruns says:

      I would have loved to join you, but our idea of pace are somewhat different! I passed through Ottery also, ran almost to Otterton along the river. Lovely, flatish and prob a bit too long for me at the mo!

  3. onthelamb says:

    the calf is the perfect shade of butterscotch!

Leave a Reply

