Exe to Axe

20 mile run along the South West coastal path, that actually turned out to be over 21 miles and simply the toughest thing I have ever done.

5The day dawned overcast and a little windy. The forecast was for rain to arrive at lunch time. I had trainer dilemma. Off road or road? In the end I opted for road trainers as it has been dry recently, it was the right decision.

I knew it was going to be hard, but it was TOUGH. The first half was not too bad on reflection, the second half contained mountain size gradients. Then there was steps, steps up so deep I could barely reach, steps down that I could only proceed slowly on. The folloeing pictures have been stolen from social media, but give you an idea of the terrain…

The trouble with a coastal path is (besides the hills) you can see what is to come!

1

This is the gentle part!

The Gradient!

The Gradient!

Miles 10 and 17 were my slowest miles!

I was very glad and amazed to get to the end, but slightly disappointed with this medal

7

after 20 plus miles on that terrain I guess I think the medal should be bigger and grander!

Huge respect for the first lady finisher who came fourth overall in a sub three-hour time, she must have run those hills and skipped up those steps to get that time and at 56 years old that is just incredible.

A huge sense of accomplishment that I have managed this one, but I am not sure it is one to be done twice!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in cross country, Devon, trail running, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Exe to Axe

  1. runtezza says:

    VLM a toddle after that. Well done, looks like an amazing event.

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Oh wow! No others words! ENJOY your taper ShazPops you deserve a fab one and thank you for being amazing and inspirational X luvYa X

  3. OmniRunner says:

    Those generic medals are disappointing. I’d rather not get a medal than wonder what to do with a trinket. You still ran a 20 mile race, so that counts for something.

  4. OH MY GOODNESS! Thank goodness you have Hilitude Shaz. That is epic. And a fantastic medal. Very well done xxx

  5. Steph says:

    Well done Shaz! As someone who has merely walked the bit from the Exe to the Otter in Budleigh (and that was plenty tough enough, thank you!), you are a legend 🙂

Leave a Reply

