Company makes the miles go quicker

Saturday morning I headed in to Exeter to meet Giselle for a long run.

Giselle and I first met some years ago for a London 10k and before that cyberly through an ‘athon. Luckily for me she has family in Exeter and even more lucky for me that she is also doing VLM this year and needed to do a long run this weekend and was down visiting for Easter. I was very excited to be running with someone on my long run, a rare occurrence for me.

I tried to organise good weather for us, but failed miserably.  There was light rain, followed by hard rain, followed by wind and repeat. Ordinarily this would have made the miles long and tedious, but with company the miles past quickly and pleasantly. We chatted the whole way catching up on training news, marathon aspirations, family, work, children, bowel movements and  menstrual cycles!

G is a tip toe runner causing an interesting squeak on the paving stones on the damp Exeter High Street at 7 am, this turned from interesting to ‘conspicuous’ on the return leg at 10 when the area was filling nicely with Saturday shoppers!

Other squeals were heard when we had to tip toe past some nasty looking geese-twice, this time the screams were from us as the vicious things stretched their necks towards us, oh how I hate geese.

We ran out for an hour and a half, snapped this pic

IMG_3880

of two happy, soggy runners and headed back.

Thanks Giselle, great to catch up. Any time you are down I would be more than happy to repeat the experience but maybe with nicer weather!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, London Marathon, Marathon Training, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Company makes the miles go quicker

  1. batelm2014 says:

    I hate geese too!!! They are such evil animals it’s like they are out to get you! I agree with your, running with a friend makes it a million times better. Unfortunately for me my friend, the only one who runs, prefers to do it on a treadmill, BORING! You both look so happy to have finished your race. https://runningtomilan.wordpress.com/

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Ahhhh how totally cool! Wish I could run for and hour and s half and then back… Phew!
    Love the pic!!!

  3. Nice to have company for the long run not sure about the geese company though. Another long run done and more prepared for VLM!

  4. Rebecca says:

    Eek Geese can be so vicious! Glad you escaped unharmed

  5. mawil1 says:

    Lovely pic. You both look as fresh as Daisys! A good sign at this stage in training I think😊

Leave a Reply

