From Hero to Zero and back again-what a week!

Last Monday I ran 7 miles and then did the Metafit class. Oh boy I was feeling hardcore. Not bad for a fifty year old I thought. Mmmmm hold that thought

Disaster struck. It was a combination of things the exercise class + a long car journey + carrying three lap tops + a foreign bed for the night. My back was hurting, really hurting. A panic stop to the Pharmacy for strong pain killers, a long day spent sorting out lap tops then a long drive home. Oh that drive, parts of it I cried, my back was agony.

Doctor said take pain killers every two hours and go to see the Physio.

The Physio (after he stopped laughing when I told him I had incurred the injury by doing floor to sky jumps) prodded me, heated me and zapped me, bit like a microwave pie really. He said heat, pain killers, stretch and don’t run till Sunday. Unusually I did as I was told.

Today was The Grizzly. I did it last year (you can read about it here) this year I was using it as a training run for VLM. The back was not good. I was grumpy. I hate all that pre run hanging about anyway, this was not helped by the mood or the back. Apologies to club members! The Grizzly has a shorter option called the cub. I contemplated my options. I could run the cub but that would mean no running this week and no long run, this would upset my training plan big time. The internal conversations went on and on and on and on. I was driving myself mad. Run not run. Cub or full. Will the back hurt? Will I do more damage?

At two miles (the first two miles consists of beach, flat, then hill ) if you had asked, like a club runner did, I would have said I am cutting off and doing the cub. Then a chance conversation with another runner changed it all. I explained that I should do the shorter run as training for the marathon and had a bad back all week. His comment “Its good training for the marathon, just walk the hills, I did that last year and beat my time by half an hour, enjoy it”

No sure why, but this was the moment I decided to do the full 20 miles. I am so glad I did. The weather was amazing and I loved it and more importantly the back did not complain at all.

Now I know you shouldn’t spend the whole race chatting to fellow runners but I think I did!

I met someone who had run 26 Grizzlys. 26? Oh my. Every year he comes out from Surrey to run. We spent a mile chatting as he lived where my Dad grew up and we knew some on the same places.

Then there was the amputee who was negotiating the hills, rocks and mud. At this point I thought Shaz its time to put your big girl knickers on and shut up, slap on a smile and get to the end. Amazing stuff by him.

So many lovely runners.

Of course the spectators and the marshals were fab too.

Mother Nature played her part too, not only by putting on the most amazing weather but she had shifted the stones on the second beach section leaving the much nicer to run on sand. Thank you Mother Nature

I finished well, there was talk of a sprint finish but this might be an exaggeration, with a smile, not always something I manage. 1 hour 12 minutes faster than last year! (last year I hobbled for 10 miles)

Photos to follow, they will contain mud and smiles.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in cross country, Devon, London Marathon, Marathon Training, Running, Virgin London Marathon 2016 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to From Hero to Zero and back again-what a week!

  1. Brilliant! Good going, Sharon.

    I’ve a twenty miler next week. I did ten today and am not feeling confident as a result. We’ll see, eh? Hopefully I’ll be like you and knock and hour and twelve off last year’s time! 😉

  2. runtezza says:

    Congrats a great run and, as ever, wonderful account of it👏🏻

  3. Well done, I wimped out today and have sat here miserable. Glad you had a good run. London is in the bag for you.

  4. Thank goodness for that chance conversation! The Running Gods decided you needed a break Lovely Shaz. Such a tough week, I really hope the back gets better quickly. I’m impressed with you doing the Grizzly after such a tough week!!! And so nice to have a happy chatty event 🙂

  5. onthelamb says:

    Well done! (and if you can find Salon Pas at your pharmacy–they’re a japanese patch you put on sore muscles–put those on your back. they work wonders with mine!)

  6. Steph says:

    Well done! Such a difference to last year’s post 🙂 My friend at work ran it too, but he was plagued by cramp and took more than 25 minutes longer than last year to do it, which is a shame.

Leave a Reply

