Long Run with a difference

Every time I have trained for marathons and half marathons, the long runs have been, long slow runs. Just go out plod and get the miles in.

I have spent hours lately, reading magazine articles, perusing training plans on the web, scanning pages of my ample supply of books and have come to notice that there is some advice out there that suggests every once in a while, you up the pace on the long runs to marathon pace for some of those miles.

Now this makes sense to me, which helps. But trouble is, what is my marathon pace? Oh I know what I would like to finish those 26.2 miles in, but there is a huge difference between that and a more realistic pace and finishing time.

A quick play on my pace-work-a-outer-app and I came up with a figure that I thought might be doable.

Keeping a constant pace on the Devon lanes with all the ups and downs, I find is almost impossible, so I relocated this morning and ran along the canal, lovely for its flatness. The first mile I took slow and treated as a warm up, I firmly believe my legs were still in bed under the duvet for that first mile! Miles 2 to 14 I managed at marathon pace, (pit stop required at miles 8 and 9) then realising that I was not going to sustain it for any longer rather than struggle on I dropped the pace for miles 15 and 16, before ramping up for the final mile.

Happy to report that once I put the distance and overall time in to the pace-work-a-outer-app, I managed the desired over all pace even with the three slower miles. Now I need to work out how to do it without the pit stops and continue it for a further 9 miles! But that’s what the next 10 weeks are for I guess.

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Half Marathon Training, London Marathon, Marathon Training, Marathons, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Long Run with a difference

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Oh wow! You go girl!!!! Sounds like you have it all sorted! Xxx impressed!!!

  2. runtezza says:

    Way to go Shaz. Tres scientifique. I await your DVD and book!!!

  3. mrssmmf says:

    so what is the ‘race’ pace for marathon day? I use Strava and constantly check my pace! There is usually a gap between what IU want to see and what I get tho!!

  4. I have often wondered that about certain speed references in these plans.
    For me, ‘marathon pace’ is only slightly faster than a walk!

  5. Go Shaz, it’s hard to work all this stuff out. I really hope you reach your goal and love every step. Sounds like you are on track and training really well. You can do it!

  6. Steph says:

    Well done! I love the canal – hadn’t been there for years until just after Christmas. I might turn it into my Couch to 5k place once I’m in a position to start that up again.

  7. I have a finish time in my head and I work out the pace required. I run 1 HR slower than pace 1 HR at pace and any residue miles as quick as my legs allow. I generally end up with a pace overall that is more or less the pace I’m looking for! Hard to gauge isn’t it!

Leave a Reply

